7-Day Wayback Music Challenge: Day Two - Sorry, Blame it on me by Akon

in #musicwaybackchallenge6 years ago (edited)

Hello friends, it's day two of my #musicwaybackchallenge.

Being a die-hard fan of the famous American Singer, songwriter, businessman, record producer and actor of Senegalese descent, back then in high school and university days. I will be sharing with you one of his tracks that I really enjoyed listening to, titled 'Blame it on me'.

'Sorry, Blame it on me' is the fifth single from R & B singer/songwriter Akon's second studio album, konvicted (Deluxe edition). The song was co-written and produced by Clinton Sparks.



I was already in my final year at the University, the year this track was released. It's a song I loved listening to and singing, following the fact that it helped me resolve a funny issue I had with my best female friend who was crushing on me(smiles). She was already reading meaning to our closeness. The beauty of it is, we are still good friends till date.

'Sorry, blame it on me' attained the number one position on iTunes on July 21, 2007 and July 23, 2007. It was released to radio on July 24, 2007. The music video directed by Chris Robinson, was produced to promote the single.



I hereby nominate @neebootoo to share with us for 7 days consecutively,her favourite #musicwaybackchallenge.

Thank you once again, @rickie, for the nomination.

The simple rules to follow
Choose one song from your high-school/college years.
Write a few words about who made you listen to this song for the first time, what this song means to you (was it a breakup song? you blasted it at 100% on your audio system when you were partying with your friends?) whatever you want.
Write your text while listening to the song. As soon as the song ends, wrap up what you where writing and submit it.
Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated.
Mention one person who should do this on each day.
Tag it with #musicwaybackchallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post.
Follow @greek-trail for great content made by our fellow Greeks!
Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Still in love with this song especially this line

even though the blame should be on you, u can put the blame on me.

One star who rose from nothing to the top but now not shining like he used to.

So am putting the blame on all the hardship and trauma we've had in Nigeria especially during the insurgency on him 😉

Hahahahah, this cracks my rib. If we have to blame the insurgency on him, then we need to blame him for the transmission omission aprehension. lol

I remember the time when this song came out. After he got accused of interacting with a minor at a club. I felt bad for Akon at the time, he was the fall guy.
Now the guy is building an empire and continues doing great stuff for Africa.

i have much respect for Akon and his works. This song brings back good memories. Thanks for sharing @Turpsy

Thank you for reading, anyinke. Yeah he has a unique voice and he is good at what he does.

Yeah @leggy23 he was really a great guy then, I hope he will have more hit songs like before. Although he is still in the music industry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.18
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83