7-day wayback music challenge: Herbie Hancock - Rockit

@slobberchops nominated me for this great challenge! He knows I enjoy my music, and it's also a good way of getting involved in the Steemit community; which is great as I'm a very new member.

When I was in my early teens I lived in Canada, having moved there from the UK with my parents when I was younger. Breakdancing had begun to become a bit of a craze in the early 80s where I lived, and a friend Billy Emigh introduced me to it, and this song. I remember learning to do the caterpiller, the wave and bodypopping for the first time to this song, and my love for both early hip-hop/rap and breakdancing was born. In its own right though, this is a belter of a tune, and I still listen to it these days, and yep, fondly reminisce of the days when I was fit and agile enough to be able to break dancing. These days the only body popping I really do is the cracking of my bones caused by old age, but the days of breakdancing in the street with my friends still remains a fond memory.

I hereby nominate @trolleydave for this challenge!

I don't really know too many people on here, so will nominate the only other person I really know beyond the few I've chatted with. So I nominate @blauweranger for this challenge! If you would like to be included in this fun challenge feel free to let me know and I will nominate you!

The rules:

  • Choose one song from your high-school/college years.
  • Write a few words about who made you listen to this song for the first time, what this song means to you (was it a breakup song? you blasted it at 100% on your audio system when you were partying with your friends?) whatever you want.
  • Write your text while listening to the song. As soon as the song ends, wrap up what you where writing and submit it.
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
  • Mention one person who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #musicwaybackchallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73