7 Day Wayback Music Challenge (1) - my punk years

in #musicwaybackchallenge6 years ago (edited)

Intro

Over a week ago, I was nominated to post one post every day about music I listened to in my youth by the infamous @egotheist. And since then, it was somehow on my mind as a thing I have to do...
I thought about doing it like @abigail-dantes and getting all done in one post, because I know I will fail to post every day for 7 days. It is just not possible. But on the other hand, writing one big post about my taste of music is a shitload of work, and I must confess that I hate to work. Not the work I do, but the work I have to do, mind that. And a big music post felt a lot like the latter.

So then, 7 posts. But for 7 posts, I have a spam... uhm, I meant short content... account. So I was dedicated to post the series from there. But then something amazin happened. My reputation is now exactly at 59.992. And I want to see it at 60 before I go to bed!
So you get the first post here, the rest of it from @doctor-cog-diss. Sounds like a good compromise?

Hi, ho, let's go.


The music

The first piece of music I want to share of you is a punk rock song by one of my favourite bands called NOFX. I was into Punk Rock a lot between 15 and 20. Then not so much. Then again, at least to some extent. What I love about NOFX is their dark humor and their hard, unapologetic and often very sarcastic lyrics.

The song I share with you is called "the idiots are taking over". And I could have written it myself, so well does it fit my genereal feeling of how the world is developing lately. But listen yourself (lyrics below):

Lyrics:

it's not the right time to be sober
now the idiots have taken over
spreading like a social cancer, is there an answer?

Mensa membership conceding
tell me why and how are all the stupid people breeding
Watson, it's really elementary
the industrial revolution
has flipped the bitch on evolution
the benevolent and wise are being thwarted, ostracized, what a bummer
the world keeps getting dumber
insensitivity is standard and faith is being fancied over reason

darwin's rollin over in his coffin
the fittest are surviving much less often
now everything seems to be reversing, and it's worsening
someone flopped a steamer in the gene pool
now angry mob mentality's no longer the exception, it's the rule
and im startin to feel a lot like charlton heston
stranded on a primate planet
apes and orangutans that ran it to the ground
with generals and the armies that obeyed them
followers following fables
philosophies that enable them to rule without regard

there's no point for democracy when ignorance is celebrated
political scientists get the same one vote as some Arkansas inbred
majority rule, don't work in mental institutions
sometimes the smallest softest voice carries the grand biggest solutions

what are we left with?
a nation of god-fearing pregnant nationalists
who feel it's their duty to populate the homeland
pass on traditions
how to get ahead religions
And prosperity via simpleton culture

the idiots are takin over

Nominations:

I won't nomiate anyone...for now. Be nice during the next week, lest you want to see your name here.

Sort:  

I absolutely loved Backstage Passport the documentary about their World Tour.
An here's my favorite NOFX song:
No Fun in Fundamentalism

Yeah, I watched and loved it aswell!

My reputation is now exactly at 59.992. And I want to see it at 60 before I go to bed!

I can feel the ecstasy and joy that follows when finally u realize you have hit 60 rep....lol

Nice song, its cool 😎, you selected well

well, it's 59.999 now. :-(
ty for commenting.

Nice!

NOFX are amazing. My favorite song is probably "You're wrong" :)

That's a good one too, yeah. My favorite is depending on my mood. There are really lots of good songs from them.^^

I loved this chunk of writing SO much @sco. First, I laughed really hard; and then, I just kept smiling and nodding. So well put! 😊

But on the other hand, writing one big post about my taste of music is a shitload of work, and I must confess that I hate to work. Not the work I do, but the work I have to do, mind that. And a big music post felt a lot like the latter.

As for today's song... ahm ... I only managed to listen to the first 30 sec. (ops!), I was listening to Debussy prior to pressing play on your video. I don't think that sudden change helped! 😅

So, I don't think this one is going to get the gold medal at the end! 😋

I am very glad you decided to take part in this challenge! :)

Take care!

So, I don't think this one is going to get the gold medal at the end! 😋

Glad you liked the post. And nevermind, I'm not doing it for medals and I know punk's not for everyone. By the way, "nevermind" comes next (but from my secondary acc, as mentioned, as I am in club 60 now :P)

Well done @sco! You successfully guessed the match result.

RUS - SAU
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!

That’s really wayback Music!!! 💯 ! Good damn forget this so much. We heard this in our junior high school ... it must be 17 years ago or more.

We has this sticker on our rucksack 🎒 .

Punk rock from it’s finest ✌️ Thanks for that :-)

you're welcome ;-)

Well done @sco! You successfully guessed the match result.

Group Phase - France vs Australia
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63439.39
ETH 2545.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66