Wayback Music Challenge - #7 - A Perfect Circle - Magdalena

My Introduction to Metal


So one of my #BeerSaturday buddies (@dennisauburn) nominated me for the Wayback Music Challenge.

The rules are pretty simple, it boils down to writing about some music from your teenage/ early adult years. Easy enough?


A Perfect Circle - Magdalena


Most people who know me think that I've been a lifelong metal-head. I don't fit the stereotype by any means however when people look at my music collection that's all they see. And when I go see live music these days, it's only metal shows that I'll be found at.

So it might be a surprise to people who know me well to discover that it wasn't until my late teens to early 20s where I discovered metal for the first time. And A Perfect Circle were one of the first bands that I was introduced to. And when I say introduced I mean blindly stumbled across.

I fell into my love of metal purely by chance. None of my friends were into it and I certainly wasn't expecting to become a lover of this genre of music, however I just happened to have the radio playing while working outdoors one day and A Perfect Circle came on. I immediately fell in love with this bands music. It has everything; amazing guitar, drums, aggression, melodic moments. And it's evokes such raw emotion at every listen.

Of all of A Perfect Circle's music, my favourite track by far is Magdalena. This isn't everyone's favourite but I simply love it. And I go back to this song over and over again. This song was released on the Orestes album in 2000, along with one of their more famous songs - Judith.

My obsession with metal evolved over the years to include Death Metal and a variety of other sub-genres (Industrial Metal is another fave - i.e. Rammstein). And my metal journey lead me to discover one of the best bands ever created - Opeth.

Since discovering Opeth I have seen them live in Australia twice. And both times were utterly incredible. There is a rare day where I won't listen to at least one of their songs. And of all their songs, Grand Conjuration is the one that I go to most often. It's quite simply insane.

I know that I'm meant to be talking about A Perfect Circle but you really need to stop and listen to this song. And it's day 7 of this challenge so my final day. I MAKE THE RULES TODAY. And play this loud, don't worry about your ear drums... they'll understand.


The Challenge Rules and Stuff


Thanks to @dennisauburn for nominating me for this challenge. I've been nominated for a few over the past couple of months but have failed miserably at completing them. But I'm pleased to say that I completed this challenge!

RULES:

  • Choose one song from your high-school/college years.
  • Write a few words about who made you listen to this song for the first time, what this song means to you (was it a breakup song? You blasted it at 100% on your audio system when you were partying with your friends?) whatever you want.
  • Write your text while listening to the song. As soon as the song ends, wrap up what you where writing and submit it.
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
  • Mention one person who should do this on each day.

Tag it with #musicwaybackchallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post.

Anyone! - show me your musical past! Seriously, I don't want to do nominations anymore.


Sort:  

I love A Perfect Circle. They always have something to surprise the listener

Sure do :)

Now was that fun, or what?! Even by the end of the 7 days, other songs keep popping up. We need to think of another kind of challenge to capture something like that...I think. :-))
Metal may still not be on my playlist, but I listened to the songs and heard more in them than I usually do. That's also good.
Have a great day. Cheers.

That was a fun challenge. I like doing these things from time to time. It forces you to think differently about the type of content you're creating. :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mazzle from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Turn your shitty bot off.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67383.45
ETH 3525.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70