Wayback music challenge: Day 1 – Sort Sol

@slobberchops nominated me for this challenge, and I do accept as I’m a madly fond of excuses to get me some Steem by selfvoting.

I'll start by starting the music!

1987! I was not really into any music that my contemporary teenagers listened to. I was mainly into classical music (not entirely true; close though), but I had started listening to rhythmic things I found myself. This record! (because records were my contact to the world back in those days) - I read about it in a music magazine on the library and liked it even before I had heard it. Noise, art, bleakness, Copenhagen (I lived in a small provincial town and longed away) THE COVER! I decided I needed to own it and ordered it in the local record shop. A week later it was there, and I went home to listen to it.

... I was blown away. It was even better than I had hoped - bleak, noisy, beautiful. I didn't know the song by Bobby Gentry, so the whole southern story with beans and preachers and things dropped from bridges made no sense at all to me, but it was fascinating and created an enormous longing in me. I knew I had to leave the town I lived in as soon as possible!

Later I meet both the guy who made the cover, and some of the musicians, who are like eternal Gods in the pantheon of punk rock in Denmark, but that was nothing compared to ...

OK, that was the music running out.

I nominate @shortcut or @roused for this challenge.

The rules:

  • Choose one song from your high-school/college years.
  • Write a few words about who made you listen to this song for the first time, what this song means to you (was it a breakup song? you blasted it at 100% on your audio system when you were partying with your friends?) whatever you want.
  • Write your text while listening to the song. As soon as the song ends, wrap up what you where writing and submit it.
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
  • Mention one person who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #musicwaybackchallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post
Sort:  

That's a very grungy, gritty song. I bet you like 'Nice n' Sleazy' too, don't you?

Yes, I forgot to comment on the music as I got busy doing this. But yes, I like em especially that synth solo.

Really nice music. But this:

...and I do accept as I’m a madly fond of excuses to get me some Steem by selfvoting.

This gotta be the best opening line for any post i've read here. Like, ever.

http://proverbicals.com/honesty-proverbs/

-> The poorhouse is filled with honest people. ~ Italian Proverbs

I like it! Blues Rock meets Joy Division meets an angry Nick Cave meets the Sex Pistols meet many more, to mention some more mainstream stuff.

The drawback of being from a small nation. Had they been from a large country they would surely have been big stars... Now they are local celebrities.

Not quite; one of my friends here knows them (as The Sods). Now there's international success for you!

I must add that I think he knows all bands in the world ever, he's a walking music encyclopedia.

That is impressing :) Yes, the where called Sods. Made a rather fine copy of Sex Pistols :)

That is impressing :) Yes, they where called Sods.

sort sol..? sounds like the modern day sauti sol music group from kenya. :-)
meanwhile the music is too noisy for my liking

The name means Black Sun in Danish :)

Lol

Sure I will comeback tomorrow to your post @katharsisdrill, I like to play the video. I cannot do it today. I like country music like Alan jackson too and I had many of country music and traditional music. Especially Gamelan

:) this is not conventional country.

Congratulations @katharsisdrill! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57684.56
ETH 3120.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33