7 DAY WAYBACK MUSIC CHALLENGE: WHERE IT BEGINS...

in #musicwaybackchallenge6 years ago (edited)


Yeah, I know, this is waaay back (not Benny Goodman wayback, but still). In junior high, the second album I ever bought was Best of the Yardbirds. The album also had a live version of Smokestack Lightning, not the same as this one, but pretty close. 1964 - live recordings had some issues, which are apparent here, but I know on my LP it was the song that I played more than any other. It was written by Willie Dixon (who seems to have written all of the really cool rock/blues songs.) The Yardbirds are famous for their succession of lead guitarists including Eric Clapton who plays on this version. But it's also the rhythm and the flow...and the harmonica is so very well played.
Thinking back on the musical journey of my life, I decided to pick the songs I dropped the needle on the most. They frequently involve longer songs, like Smokestack Lightning, that has some ebb and flow to them, mostly my early taste in blues and, of course, some psychedelic (one off an album Jerry Garcia was quoted as saying, "It's the most psychedelic album ever made.")
So, anyway, I"m thinking this should be fun and I hope someone out there enjoys it.

If he feels inclined to accept, I nominate: @irreverent-dan for this challenge.

RULES:

*Choose one song from your high-school/college years.
*Write a few words about who made you listen to this song for the first time, what this song means to you (was it a breakup *song? you blasted it at 100% on your audio system when you were partying with your friends?) whatever you want.
*Write your text while listening to the song. As soon as the song ends, wrap up what you where writing and submit it.
*Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
*Mention one person who should do this on each day.
*Tag it with #musicwaybackchallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post

Sort:  

There you go! You should tag me in them tho so I know when you post these!

Thanks for replying. And I'm glad it worked - my first post with YouTube stuff in it. Ya jus neva know!

Yo man, thanks for the nomination! I am very bad when it comes to challenges on Steemit :) I'll see - maybe I'll do a couple of posts, but I don't promise anything 😁

I completely understand...and agree. So, very optional. I also do very few and was thinking about this one for a few weeks before beginning.
Cheers dude, you know, like whatever... :-)) You can check out my music posts tho, cuz the music I like is good music.... -

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54179.48
ETH 2261.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31