7 Day Wayback Music Challange - Day 6 (Version 2): Dueling Dorm Rooms

in #musicwaybackchallenge6 years ago (edited)

I was nominated into the 7-Day Wayback music challenge by @detlev which was very nice of him. This will be my second shot at this challenge, having done one after @verhp11 challenged me a few weeks ago. Based on my past music posts and comments on his posts I guess he thought I would have something of value to offer this challenge so I am eager to see if I indeed do. This challenge made me really have to start thinking about the way back indeed. I grew up in the 70's and early 80s so that was a while ago.

And so here we are go again for a Day#6 of the challenge. I love these kinds of challenges, I have so many music related memories, and it is great I can write about them. Music has always been a big part of my life and still is, even today as an "oldster"!

Back to college and sophomore year in the dorms. You might recall on Day 2, I showed a picture of me and my neighbor from across the pod, Vince. Well he and his roommate were big Toto fans, while I was more hard rock, so we would have duels between Judas Priest (me) and them (Toto). So this is going to be a dual memory with two songs. I had the Sin after Sin album from JP while they were rocking Toto's first album. I admit, I like Toto also but it was a hard rock versus rock thing. Totos first album was self titled and had a pretty cool cover on it with a sword and stuff. I am pretty sure I won the duels we had, I mean who wouldn't think Judas Priest beats our Toto any day of the week.

Judas Priest - Sinner

Toto - Hold the Line

More great memories from those days.

The rules:

  • Choose one song from your high-school/college years.
  • Write a few words about who made you listen to this song for the first time, what this song means to you (was it a breakup song? you blasted it at 100% on your audio system when you were partying with your friends?) whatever you want.
  • Write your text while listening to the song. As soon as the song ends, wrap up what you where writing and submit it.
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
  • Mention one person who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #musicwaybackchallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post

I nominate @jacobtothe for this challenge, I have no idea if he is up for it or liked music so lets see. Don't feel obligated to do it.

Sort:  

Judas Priest is my favourite band!

Looks like I hit it right on this one! Should have nominated you!

Lol, you saw how that went the last time !

I’d like to think I can convince you one of these days

Lol, I seriously doubt it but you never know!

Shit! I can just imagine the battles in the hallway. :-)) When I was younger, I'd go up into the mountains, open my car doors and crank up the music. Now, I just like to sit outdoors and listen to....whatever. Getting old. But, I crank it at home to uncomfortable levels - til the wife returns. Really old. :-)) Cheers!

Great combi, JP and Toto :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70118.25
ETH 3744.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84