7 Day Wayback Music Challange - Day 1 (Version 2): My First Concert Experience

I was nominated into the 7-Day Wayback music challenge by @detlev which was very nice of him. This will be my second shot at this challenge, having done one after @verhp11 challenged me a few weeks ago. Based on my past music posts and comments on his posts I guess he thought I would have something of value to offer this challenge so I am eager to see if I indeed do. This challenge made me really have to start thinking about the way back indeed. I grew up in the 70's and early 80s so that was a while ago.

And so here we are go again for a Day#1 of the challenge. I love these kinds of challenges, I have so many music related memories, and it is great I can write about them. Music has always been a big part of my life and still is, even today as an "oldster"!

Growing up in next to the middle of no-where on a farm near a very small town in northern Montana, one of the biggest and least populated states in the USA, I didn't have a lot of access to concerts, let alone bigger name bands. So when Styx was coming to Great Falls (nearest big city to me, about 100 miles away) right before my senior year of high school, my buddy and I drove down for it. I think his girlfriend went with us but I am not 100% sure of that either. He had an old school Charger, so it was a quick trip. The concert was at the Civic Center, the biggest venue there but as I recall it wasn't packed. We actually sat up in the balcony. The opening act was some regional band I would only be guessing at the name trying to remember. I want to say it was called Lion or something. Styx was touring after the release of their Equinox album and just before the release of their Crystal Ball album, so they were just on the cusp of super stardom. There were some good songs on the Equinox album, my personal favorite, "Light Up", but it also included the semi-hit "Lorelei" and "Suite Madame Blue". Tommy Shaw joined the band between the two albums and was likely in the band when I saw them.

Styx - Light Up

It was a fun night, I recall cruising their drag, which was Central Avenue down town Great Falls. Funny how music helps you recall things. I hope you enjoyed my memory.

The rules:

  • Choose one song from your high-school/college years.
  • Write a few words about who made you listen to this song for the first time, what this song means to you (was it a breakup song? you blasted it at 100% on your audio system when you were partying with your friends?) whatever you want.
  • Write your text while listening to the song. As soon as the song ends, wrap up what you where writing and submit it.
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
  • Mention one person who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #musicwaybackchallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post

I nominate @jakeybrown for this challenge, since he didn't do it the first time I nominated him and he says he is "Back".

Sort:  

Excellent choice. Bands were experimenting with very new ways at that time. I visited a girlfriend in NW Wyoming once and she had us out dragging main - I just thought that was so funny and, oddly, cool.

there wasn't much else to do in small towns back in those days but cruising the drag.

Jooo, Styx - I remember a song and some albums - "conerstone" comes to my mind.

And there was a boat on the river

yes that album came out about 5 years later.

One of the things that I love more from Styx is that the sound and the production always is excellent. They have ups and downs (at least at what I've listened) but they always look for a good sound.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69942.87
ETH 3793.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73