7-Day Wayback Music Challenge: Day 3 - Black

When @ruth-girl nominated me for the music challenge, which was evidently started by @dimitrisp, I simply couldn't resist. This is Day 3 of glimpses from my early years, each featuring one piece of music, and associated memories.

Today, I'll keep it short & sweet!


Someone important "gave" me this song, dedicated it to me, which naturally gave it more weight.

There was no internet yet, I couldn't simply look up the lyrics, so the primary memory associated with this is.... my sister and me, sitting on the living room floor, next to the stereo, playing the song over and over, figuring out the lyrics and writing them down, passionately appreciating the voice, the lyrics and the arrival of Pearl Jam in our lives.

Black (Lyrics)

Sheets of empty canvas
Untouched sheets of clay
Were laid spread out before me
As her body once did
All five horizons
Revolved around her soul
As the earth to the sun
Now the air I tasted and breathed
Has taken a turn

Oh and all I taught her was everything
Oh I know she gave me all that she wore
And now my bitter hands
Chafe beneath the clouds
Of what was everything
Oh the pictures have
All been washed in black
Tattooed everything
I take a walk outside
I'm surrounded by
Some kids at play
I can feel their laughter
So why do I sear
Oh, and twisted thoughts that spin
Round my head
I'm spinning
Oh, I'm spinning
How quick the sun can, drop away

And now my bitter hands
Cradle broken glass
Of what was everything
All the pictures had
All been washed in black
Tattooed everything
All the love gone bad
Turned my world to black
Tattooed all I see
All that I am
All I'll be

Yeah
I know someday you'll have a beautiful life
I know you'll be a star
In somebody else's sky
But why
Why
Why can't it be
Why can't it be mine


Here is the unplugged version, with some additional "lyrics" at the end...

I hope you have enjoyed this trip down memory lane with me!



Today, I nominate @joenorwood
because, it turns out he has a lot to say about music & lyrics from the early years of his life! :)

The rules:

  • Choose one song from your high-school/college years.
  • Write a few words about who made you listen to this song for the  first time, what this song means to you (was it a breakup song? you  blasted it at 100% on your audio system when you were partying with your  friends?) whatever you want.
  • Write your text while listening to the song. As soon as the song ends, wrap up what you where writing and submit it.
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated.
  • Mention one person who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #musicwaybackchallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post.

Thank you for the nomination @ruth-girl !



Sort:  

I secretly loved Pearl Jam, but for some reason I never admitted it - maybe an ex rubbished me for my music tastes and I actually took it to heart.

But it's Pearl Jam! Eddie Vedder! Appreciation of Eddie Vedder should be embraced wholeheartedly and unscrupulously! :)

Many year later, came "Into the Wild", with a soundtrack by Eddie VEdder, and this song...

I loved into the wild - and the book - and the BUS!!! Don't worry, I loved him defiantly - just in secret!

Pearl Jam is one of my favorite bands. The wonderful voice of Eddie Vedder and the magnificent ballads with their own distinctive sound make them unique!

Oh, my... one of my favourite. Group, he, everything. I like everything about them and him. :)

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69053.05
ETH 3802.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69