You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Music Monday (feel free to add your own tracks)

in #musicmonday5 years ago

Great video pick this week, I really enjoyed that video. Come April, if he overcomes his pneumonia as I hear he had to delay some concerts the other day, I will finally go see Elton John. This is his last tour so it was finally time to stop procrastinating to getting around to it some day.

I could have picked from a host of favorite songs I have of his over the decades, I am sure once a few of those are played live in person the emotions are going to find a connection so surreal I won't be able to control a few steams of tear of joy for the experience of witnessing them live. Few artist ever connect with one's emotional journey through life experiences for decades and he surely is one of them. The following song seemed fitting for me this week as I had gone down to a meeting held at a neighborhood organization office in our city's heartside district which houses a lot of low income and homeless people, they were going to have a representative there to talk with people who may be interested in working for the government doing the census.

Upon entering I was greeted with a warm welcome and to grab a bite to eat off the buffet they had set up or help myself to a cooler full of beverages or coffee. Seems it wasn't just the monthly neighborhood meetings it was the monthly meeting plus pot luck. I must admit our city has it's share of homeless people but they sure are a spoiled bunch of homeless people as the resources and access to food and warm meals are abundant to them everywhere you go. As I looked over the crowd I recognized a few faces I have met in my lifetime at some point somewhere, these obviously were some that just didn't make it and when some of them spoke it was evident they had suffered severe set backs somewhere along the way. There was one lady in particular whom I just couldn't place, she must have been wondering the same thing as about half an hour into it all she comes over and says is your name, and she says my name and I reply yes. She says I have prayed for you my whole life and she walks away. As I sat there I was like well that couldn't have been a good experience if she felt the need to be praying for me. She comes back through, stops and I ask her name, she says it's me Dawnie, you know, big reds Dawnie. That threw me for a loop, she could have given me a thousand guesses and I'd missed every time. I said big hefty tall dude with red hair that lived down on Coldbrook and she replied yes. At that point I knew I was safe as it was always her that had a problem not me, her husband sold weed and anytime some girl showed up to buy a bag they were all suspect in wanting her man. I even made a point to reiterate that to her by saying you were the tiny blonde who always thought someone was out to steal her man and she giggled shaking her head yes. Now here was Ms. Popular Cute beaten down shaking from a long hard lived life of alcohol and drugs...and through out my life she wouldn't be the only one I'd run across that someone could have given me a thousand guesses and I'd miss each time so a song about urban living with the words "And I thank the Lord for the people I have found
I thank the Lord for the people I have found" ring very true and deep for me this week, without them who knows where I have may ended up, this is a tribute to all those who held onto me by a string in my life.

Sort:  

Hey @sunlit I've seen Elton John once, he played down on Brighton cricket pavillion and my friend had a house on the third floor (complete with balcony) that looked directly out onto it, thus we got one of the best views and a free show! Great music, sun shining few drinks .= great day! :D

Thank you for sharing you story .. it's amazing, this journey of life, the way we find ourselves randomly intertwined with people .. ,the conscious (and subconcsious) memories or indeed life lessons they inspire. Like yourself, I'm certainly grateful for the people I've found along my way .. for better and worse, if you find a way to listen, most have a lesson to teach. Thanks for the music my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67714.75
ETH 2616.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69