Music Monday (feel free to add your own music)

in #musicmonday5 years ago (edited)

The aim is simple, to banish those Monday blues with an eclectic range of music chosen by Steemit friends both old and new.

Music Monday.jpg

Every Monday I intend to post a music video (and a few words explaining my choice) I invite you to join me by doing same in the comments section below. As the forum (hopefully) grows my aim is that we begin to inspire our fellow Steemians to broaden their musical horizons by listening to the music that inspires us. The only thing I ask is that (where possible) every song we listen to is played nice and loudly on headphones or speakers in order that we capture its true essence.

As more Steemians join this venture there is also going to be the possibility of being rewarded for our musical tastes via the amount of upvotes each song receives. That said please never feel awkward about posting a track, a guilty pleasure or even your own musical ventures. I have an extremely wide range of musical interests but also understand that music like beauty is very much in the eye of the beholder. As such I may play my chosen song, but who am I to define what constitutes good music.

Hope everyone is well and has enjoyed a really good week? Been a long day and I'm running a bit late, so thought I'd go for a track that's fresh in my mind .. not always a fan of covers and thought of a reggae cover of such a classic song initially had me sighing at the prospect .. but, I think they've done a dam fine job .. although, I'm seriously left pondering how long it took to grow those dreads??!! Must be heavy. :D I hope you enjoy!

Minnow5.gif

Written by: Perceptualflaws
Song: The Unforgiven
Artist: Alborosie
Gifs courtesy of @justcallmemyth

Minnow3.gif

Sort:  

Thanks for the music! Here is my choice this week.

Thank you, thank you and thank you! I had this album (actually a cassette) many years ago, I don't know how I came about owning it and nimble headed me didn't pay attention to which album it was...but it contained my favorite Eric Clapton song....it was always in my car and when nothing good was on the radio I play it. Then one day the time had come to get rid of my sixteen year old beater (man, the road trips that car took...lol) and that tape happen to be in the deck and I forgot to check the deck before it went to the junk yard. I've searched many of his albums looking for the song but failed to come across it, I'd never thought to plug in Blues Before Sunrise. Thank goodness I remember this song was on that album!

Okay, Perceptualflaws lets rock this puppy....

Heck, I am on a roll now....

Hey @Sunlit7,
Glad to help out ;) I posted this here a while back as a favourite Clapton, so maybe you will like it too.

Love the instrumentals segment of the song. I saw Robert Cray many years ago here during what we use to have termed Blue on the Mall hosted by a local radio station every week during the summer. They still have it but it's basically been banished to a stadium parking lot across town. With gentification came change, with time so did the blues in a way, it went more towards a rock-blues and attracted a somewhat different younger crowd whom the powers to be determined just wasn't the crowd they wanted downtown on a weekly basis.

Hey @sunlit .. hope you've been well? Keep missing you, but if you don't mind I certainly don't! I'm currently (regularly) working away on a Tuesday and getting back late Wednesday .. but it's always nice to return to some great music, and you've certainly done us proud this week! Can't beat a bit of Clapton!! Following Ginger's death, I've been revisiting a lot of the Cream back catalogue .. so to hear some of Clapton's solo work is greatly appreciated! Excellent choices, thank you for the music my friend .. a listening pleasure! :)

Hey my friend, hope you've had a good week. Awesome choice this week, funnily enough I was only watching "Mannish boy" (from the gid he did with the Stones) a few nights back. Blues woven into his very soul, makes it look effortless :) .. Thank you for the music @ricia .. a great choice!!

When my wife acts like the woman I did not marry. :)

Haha Nice to hear from you @cannabisguy420 This track certainly blew away the cobwebs :) I lived in Scotland for a few years .. so seen them a few times and they're great musicians. And yeah I can relate to the sentiment lol Thanks for the music .. enjoyed this trip down memory lane :)

Yeah, I have always been a fan! A lot more people with a ton of music... Very nice concept for this post! I get to make a new playlist for the week now.

Yes! I have had a tab open with this song for days so I wouldn't forget to post it.

This is a rare slice of double Canadiana right here. Rush is probably Canada's best band but I love Triumph just as much. So, Rik doing a little Rush is just perfect for me.

You will instantly turn into a hoser and say something like "Right on eh?"

Hey my friend, I know Rush very well, 2112 .. back in the day i played the hell out of 2112 .. never heard of Triumph, but really appreciating the cover! Very nicely done .. great musician .. Right on!! :D Thank you for both the introduction and reintroduction and as always thank you for the music!! :)

Oh shit man! You have some catching up to do. I bet you know this one.

Rik is such a fantastic vocalist and a world class shredder too. So good.

I've heard of Triumph, actually saw them in concert many, many moons ago. They were basically a one hit wonder band...

I still have the ticket stub, they played with Foghat. You can tell that was quite the years ago as at the height of their popularity it cost all of eleven bucks to see them....lol
Photo11112012.jpg

I've seen Rush, they played with 38 Special which was an odd combination....a concert though that'd be very hard to forget as our car got towed and it was an out of town concert. They had people directing traffic where to park so why they had us park in a no parking area left us scratching our heads. lol, which at the time really wasn't funny, it sort of turned the whole event sour at the end. We should have been home by midnight and we didn't get back home until four in the morning.

Staying with the reggae theme, a golden oldie....something like myself;)

Ha a golden oldie .. but a refined vintage :) Great choice, great energy ... chilled yet uplifting, very nicely done my friend! Loving the heavy dub basslines, and towards the end it starts to get into a little bit of Lee scratch territory .. I like!! :D Thank you for the music my friend, really enjoyed this one!!

Nice song pick, I enjoyed that one. I incorporated mine in the comments below.

His dreads are sewn in, at least that would be my guess based on the length. Hair continually sheds and replaces itself. The hair on top of one's head every two to four years. So when you see someone whose hair is down to their butt and says it took them ten years to grow it that long that is true...what isn't is the fact there is no hair that makes it to ten years old. Hair grows on average of one half inch a month and that growth can accelerate a bit more in the summer months, on average it takes a good two feet to reach the buttocks which is approximately four years of growth, so as some hair is shedding at four years others are reaching their max at four years. So those dreads would be holding an abundance of dead hairs that shed over time but couldn't fall naturally....if trapped and stuck out of the dreads it'd take a whole lot of continually applying some grease to hold them all down instead of having them poking out everywhere.

Thank you for the info my friend .. you learn something new everyday! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57151.22
ETH 3067.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32