Music Monday (feel free to add your own music)

in #musicmonday6 years ago (edited)

The aim is simple, to banish those Monday blues with an eclectic range of music chosen by Steemit friends both old and new.

Music Monday.jpg

Every Monday I intend to post a music video (and a few words explaining my choice) I invite you to join me by doing same in the comments section below. As the forum (hopefully) grows my aim is that we begin to inspire our fellow Steemians to broaden their musical horizons by listening to the music that inspires us. The only thing I ask is that (where possible) every song we listen to is played nice and loudly on headphones or speakers in order that we capture it’s true essence.

As more Steemians join this venture there is also going to be the possibility of being rewarded for our musical tastes via the amount of upvotes each song receives. That said please never feel awkward about posting a track, a guilty pleasure or even your own musical ventures. I have an extremely wide range of musical interests but also understand that music like beauty is very much in the eye of the beholder. As such I may play my chosen song, but who am I to define what constitutes good music.

I hope everyone is well has enjoyed a good weekend. This weeks choice as inspired by the #tribesteemup weekly question, which was "How Does One Deal With/Accept A Loved One Who Displays Self-Destructive Tendencies?". I dedicate this beautifully poignant ballad to all those fighting the scourge of addiction and to all family members doing their best to pull them back from the brink. I hope you enjoy.

This isn't about making me Steem so please save your upvotes and reward the songs that you feel are worthy, although equally if my song stands out to you then I'd appreciate the vote. Any resteems would be much appreciated, all are invited and welcomed to join us in sharing and listening to a diverse range of music.

Minnow5.gif

Written by perceptualflaws
Song: Broken Window Serenade
Band: Whisky Myers
Gifs courtesy of @justcallmemyth

Many thanks for taking the time and consideration to read this post. Any upvotes, follows and resteems are greatly appreciated. Follow @perceptualflaws

Minnow3.gif

Sort:  

That's a sad song, and it made me think of this song, which I haven't heard for a while: Silence ft. Sarah McLachlan. The video is quite intense!

Hey @natubat .. I haven't heard this in years, completely forgotten about it .. great choice! Funnily enough, I think I have been to the place where they jump into the water .. I think it's called the blue pool or something similar, on the Pembrokeshire coast. Anyway lol really enjoyed your choice this week, loads of emotion interwoven throughout this track .. I certainly won't be leaving it so until I listen again .. thank you for the music @natubat

Really? A good excuse for me to go and explore the Pembrokeshire coast someday! It looks beautiful. When I thought about that song, I hadn't seen the video before, and the fact that the couple are tied to each other made me think about how people feel tied to their loved ones, even when they are going through a self-destructive phase. Definitely one I'll be watching and listening to again too.

Yes I think it's the place in the pictures below .. and yes I agree on the video, we are tied to loved ones .. and that equally when in such a phase they can often take us with them.

Wow - that looks absolutely gorgeous! It's funny, I was just commenting to @gabrielatravels that I've travelled to so many countries in the world, and now I'm trying to explore my own country a bit more – this is definitely on my list!

hehe, glad to see that you are discovering your own country a little bit more! :D

Absolutely! :)

wow this really brought back memories for me, what a tune xxx, thank you @natubat

Thanks @trucklife-family! Glad you enjoyed it :)

It's Monday again and my offering is a tamil/english reggae song made Bubba friend of mine, he is an MD as well as musician and reps the rasta vibe well. Macha means brother in law in Tamil and is not loosely tossed around, it could get you slapped up or worse using it in non familial territory. You only call a true brother from another mother macha..

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha awesome dude, love this .. great choice, nice vibes and cool as .. :D I think Machi means medicine women so I imagine its best not to get them mixed up! Thank you for the music my friend, this was a listening pleasure :D Also just to say, in relation to #musicmonday this is last weeks edition .. I usually post tonights post, right about now.

This one is from the early 80s when we all thought we'd be nuked by the Russians at any moment. I thought it an appropriate track considering Trumps threatened withdrawal from the nuclear arms treaty with Russia.

That's rad... thanks for sharing. Ah.. the 80s.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah, the 80s indeed. I'd go back and live there if I could!

Hey dude, sorry for the late ears on this great track! I'm right out in the sticks and my net was running so slow last night I couldn't give all the tracks the attention they deserve. Never heard this before but I remember this time very well .. going to primary school and wondering if the world would be blown up before home time. Just goes to show some things never change .. we always have to be scared of something. Equally, it shows the power of music .. you tell us we're going to be blown up and in return we'll give you a cracking little track! Excellent choice and excellent timing my friend!

I like your selection today, @perceptualflaws, and very especially the reason. You reminded me of how we should accept and help the people we love. That's why I bring one of the most beautiful songs in history: It's not a burden, it's my brother. I hope you enjoy it on our musical Monday.

Thank you @nancybriti .. yes very wise words my friend. You've chosen a bonafide classic this week. Such a beautiful track and sentiment, a song that works its magic every time :) Thank you for the music my friend .. an excellent choice!

Thank you once again my friend for the music and also the reason for your choice, it really does bring up some memories for me.
Here is my choice for today, a very emotional piece but oh so moving, this really transports me. I do love string instruments and this band well they are amazing, enjoy

Thank you @trucklife-family. I really liked your choice this week, it kind of picks you up in a whirlwind of music and emotion then drops you back down .. dazed but with a big smile on your face :) Thank you for your choice this week my friend .. it's a big thumbs up from me :)

What a beautiful song!

Posted using Partiko Android

Dont ever change by the crickets. A nice pop song from the 60's written by Gerry Goffin and Carole King :)

Really nice track @hercdoukakis such a happy vibe and uplifting vibe .. music had a tangible innocence back in it's 50s heyday .. and there is something quite compelling about hearing songs that perfectly capture the essence of that moment in time :) Thank you for the music my friend, this was a great choice!

Glad to catch this is real.time at last. If we are spinning addiction and riffing off your song, this comes to mind:

https://g.co/kgs/n73Q1t

And then I was trying to find a very particular bluegrass song about cocaine but I couldn't find it, which led me in a loop back to Cash, and the fact I didn't know his Cocaine song was originally Guthries, tho I like JCs better

Posted using Partiko Android

Cool to see you this #musicmonday @riverflows .. and you've certainly enriched our musical diversity and listening pleasure. L find the first song quite hauntingly beautiful, you can hear the experience and struggle resonating from it's every note .. an excellent choice! And equally another great choice with Woody Guthrie .. indeed people have been fighting this battle a long time, I've not heard Cash's version but you've inspired me to find it. Thank you for the music my friend, I really enjoyed your inspired choices.

Cool! I love Gillian Welch. She's amazing. Try Caleb Myers song for more haunting haunting. Saw her live in Melbourne and she totally blew everyone away. Thanks for music Monday. I'm all in and doing my own music Monday post to add to fun.

Posted using Partiko Android


Gnome's song
Put the glasses on the table
Put different foods on the table
Everyone says alcohol is bad
I say alcohol is good
Early in the morning when it is still dark
Have a beer and you will reach your goal.
Everyone says alcohol is bad
Dwarf says alcohol is useful
I go wander
I even walk on the sea
I shall not hesitate to drink a frigate
But the fleet will not disgrace

Thank you for another great track from homeland my friend .. without you I'd never hear all this music :) It has an almost celtic vibe to this one .. I like it!! Thank you for the music @rosgard .. as always this was a pleasure!

Celtic motifs really exist. The country was an Empire more than 1000 years ago. When the old empire she can not borrow. Including some Celts fled from the massacre arranged by the Vikings. Vikings were feared in Europe. We did not have this word. We just called them rowers. The Vikings were afraid to fight our empire and only traded. Because the Celts joined our peoples.
How at one time residents of the county of Toulouse joined. They were sentenced to destruction by the papal priest of a religious heresy. Our Empire has always been loyal to any religion in the world. At school I had Confucian friends. A friend in the army was a Muslim. Personally, I am an atheist, but from a Christian family. We were all different, we are united by love for our country and good.

#tribesteemup questions are always amazing, I wish I knew how it goes and I could've been answering too.
It's a beautiful song choice you made as well it feels like blues but a bit improvised,
My song choice today is when love comes around because I'm feeling a bit down

Hey my friend, sorry you're feeling a bit down .. just a transient phase I hope? We all get days and times when life is hard so you're in good company :) Great choice this week my friend, and the sentiment is so true .. life can indeed knock us down, but equally .. we learn so much when we rise, we also learn which friends will be there .. holding out there hands to help us back to our feet. Thank you for the music my friend :)

Over in the Ukraine at the moment, cant explain on here, tune all the same bro.

Hey my friend, sorry I missed this last night .. I'm right out in the sticks and my net was running so slow I couldn't give all the tracks the attention they deserve. Great choice my friend and in many ways a song of the moment .. a winter of discontent? I guess we shall see! Thank you for the music my friend , I really enjoyed listening to this one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81