Music Heals The Soul Contest

in #musichealsthesoul6 years ago (edited)

How many times have we needed music in our lives to get passed the many obstacles of life? Feelings of anger, hatred, sadness, loneliness, heartache... Of happiness, joyfulness, accomplishments and celebrations. There is a song fit for all our emotions.

In every category of music you will find a song that fits your mood. If you are hurting from heartache, be assured that you will find something to fit in heavy metal, just as much as country.

This is what I like most about music.

I found this challenge by @magicalmoonlight, so happy that I did. I was trying to think of a way to write it up and show people that we are all connected through music but didn't know how. This challenge opened the door for me.

To start I want to share my go to music.

Metallica

I have been listening to them since I was 8 years old. They have a special place in my heart as they were the first heavy metal band I ever heard. The only music I heard before was what I called 'Old people's music' that folky something that made me feel like I needed achy bones and wrinkly skin to listen to. And country. Oh how I did not like country. I never understood what was so fun about line dancing...
So yes, Metallica as pretty fantastic! My first album was Load. I listened to it so many times, I knew the guitar solos by heart of every song on that album and more. People found me weird that I was singing to that more than I did the lyrics. Ever get that feeling that you feel the music more than the words? The emotions matched the exact waves of the sound? I did and a lot.

So lately my 2 songs I have on repeat every now and then from Metallica is from their album Death Magnetic.


This second one is just the music. No lyrics. I just love listening to it and flowing with it, feels like I could touch it. I'm weird, I know lol.

During times when I am feeling rough and just need words of something different to take me away I listen to Buck 65. An underappreciated artist perhaps. He is a poet in my opinion and definitely has a way with words that one day I wish to understand more. Even if I don't understand all the meanings behind his words, I can still feel like I can connect with it the way it needs to in my life.



All 3 are from the same album, my favorite one, Secret House Against The World.

Now this post would get you to be listening to music for days if I don't limit myself. Trying to be wise on what to choose.

My most recent go to right now, I found yesterday. I became a fan of @nathankaye a few weeks ago, maybe. His music is touching on many different levels and can really help someone move forward. He has shared his music with people here on Steemit and he has shared this one with me yesterday in his comments. Find the link to his post here

I'm telling you, whatever it may be that's going on, this meditative music will help you. I'm hooked on his music and the man himself most likely lol. He is very genuine and a great person. I'm lacking on vocabulary here, so go find out for yourself and visit his posts :)

I have a wide variety of music that I am very fond of, even classical music from Beethoven and Mozart. But I still stay away from country. It's like that plate of Shepherd's Pie my mom made too much of. I can't even smell it anymore because of how many times she's made it.

We all take what we need through music, may it be for inspiration, to meditation, to releasing the stresses within ourselves and to even get out that party type energy we have. It is in our roots and we all get satisfaction from it and that is how we are all connected through music.

Feel free to share your music and write up a post about it, I would like to know what @dawnsheree and @derrangedvisions are listening to. Perhaps @papacrusher and @eonwraped feel like sharing the sounds of what fills their ears on a friday night ^_^ And how about you @ amymya, @eaglespirit, @earthmother. Feel like sharing?


unknown.png

Sort:  

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

Yay! You got one too @foxyspirit 😊 I will definitely be looking farther into them becoming a witness.

I was gone for a couple of days and I come back to see so many great things happening. I should leave more often! Just joking, it's hard to leave this for the 2 days that I was gone! Couldn't wait to get back.

WOW! This is great! Thank youuuuuuuuu! I have so many questions! How come? Why me? What did I do to deserve this? Omg! Thank you!!!!

We like written articles around the topic music, personal stories, opinions, experiences. Steemit and the Steem blockchain is designed for blogging, so that is what we like to see. Your article deserved extra rewards, it adds to the community in our opinion :)

You have my utmost gratitude. I will continue to try to put quality contents as so that this reward is not wasted :)

That's great to read! Maybe our paths cross again.

Naaaaaw! Thanks so much for including me in your music list here, radiant being @foxyspirit! And all those beautiful complimentary words. I'm honoured and feel blessed!
:)

Absolutely. I like to express how I feel about what makes me feel good in order to share it with the world. Great things do need to be acknowledge. ;)

I love a fellow Metallica fan. Death Magnetic was my first chance to get to see them in concert. Kansas City was one of the first stops on that tour. There are some really good songs on Death Magnetic. Load and Reload are also, for me, some of their more underrated work because of their stigma of "selling out". Loved Mama Said and Fixxxer from those albums.

YES!!!!! You so get it!
I got to see them only once. Oh I will never forget this. I was 18. It was my dream to see them. It the Sanitarium concert. Limp Biscuit played, Linkin Park, Mudvayne and another group I have not heard about.
Anyways, I was right upfront on the right side. Metallica was playing a melo part of a song and no one was moving. Just listening. James was strumming his guitar on the right side and because I was being .. well, me... I started jumping. I was the only one jumping to a melo song. But I am so glad that I did!
You know how they strum their guitar and let it go and point at someone? He pointed at me. I was so amazed that he saw me I stopped jumping and just stood there like a kid staring at candy through the store window when its closed.
Maybe one day I get to see them again.
Thanks for reading my post. Sorry for the long reply :p

I would have loved to seen that show. I was huge in to Limp back when they came out with 3 dollar bill, y’all, and I loved Mudvayne’s L.D 50 album. I still listen to both to this day.

I haven’t been to a ton of concerts in my day, seen Staind twice, Cold a couple times, but Metallica was the best. The stage show was just awesome. Even caught a pick from Kirk.

Nice! I listen to them still as well. Metallica has been the only 'big' concert I have been to. What a thrill concerts can be :D

I love music @foxyspirit. I have loads on my laptop which I sometimes play while working in my office at school. Definitely lifts the mood and helps me get through some days. I like Metallica, love Pink Floyd, and I'm so bummed as Carlos Santana is playing in SA in Durban tonight and I couldn't get to be there :( He's old but still fabulous. I'd love to write a post about my favourites, it could go on forever though! Have you heard @paintingangels? I love her calm, soothing sound.

Oh write a post about it! It brings people together, I wasn't expecting so many comments on here and it just goes to prove that its true :)
<3 Pink Floyd! Oh the memories... In my apartment many years ago I would just veg out on my couch listening to one of their albums. My neighbour would come pounding on my door to turn it down. "We have paper walls you know" he would say lol.
I have not heard of paintingangels. I will take the time to check it out shortly. Thanks for taking the time to read my blog. I appreciate you coming by and leaving a comment ^_^

I'm posting the link to @paintingangels cover of Sounds of Silence as it's the first song of hers I heard and I absolutely love it. She has a lot of her own music, which is just as awesome. Hope it's okay to do this.

@leighleigh you are SO sweet to mention me and post a link to mine and Danny's cover. (@dannyhamilton is here on steemit now, too, as well!) I've been meaning to make a post about this cover, but just haven't yet. So thankful to have crossed paths with you here!
♥-serena

You compliment each others voices nicely. Love this song.

I highly recommend @Paintingangels music too! Amazing style and voice!
She is also a really good writer and a beautiful person!
:)

Definitely ok to do this! Time has escaped from me, I have not had the chance until now to check it out, so thank you for sending me link. Cheers!

Cool! Metallica is pretty fun to listen to, that second instrumental one is playing right now. Drums and guitar riffs all day.

Ah you tagged the evil version of me :P. Perhaps I will share..... Though I'm not much of a music listener. I can go with it without it. Classical music is a big part though.

Share share share! Pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeease :p I could spot you as a classical listener. I love finding new classical music, but I am very picky about it, so I would love to know what you listen to. It could broaden my music library :)

Hey @foxyspirit! I loved learning more about you through the music you like. Metallica is a good choice. Definitely something that can touch your soul on a really deep and personal level 🌠 Thanks for playing in the challenge 😏

Thank you for reading my post, and resteeming it! When I saw that you did I was so stoked! Woohoo! lol

Thank you for giving me the opportunity. Music is really something great to share ^_^

I'll work this into a post when I get some time early next week, but the brief version is that my "go to" is 90's alternative but my tastes vary as wildly as my moods....lol Lately I've been digging Nathaniel Rateliff

Take your time :) It will be a great read once you write it. I have no idea who Nathaniel Rateliff is. Looking forward to it. Cheers xx

Whoa! I never got this tag!! Gina sux!!! I love this post and just went snooping around your blog. :p
I will definitely do this challenge. thank you!!
love,
eagle

Ah you being sneaky eagle? :p lol It is great to do. Uplifting as well in my opinion.

yeah you had a lot to say/write too, I have to really think now. we all love music but i love so many types ... aagggghhhhh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65771.81
ETH 3174.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61