Sort:  

Wow...some amazing voices. Don't understand any of it, but the voices are great.

One of the things that makes joik so amazing is that the "words" are often not words at all - just syllables, utterances... as the joiker paints their emotions for you to share. So ancient and soulful.

Thanks for the visit.

So even if I had a clue what they were saying before the performance or after...thinking about the first guy, it wouldn't have helped me really in terms of the song itself. That is good to know. I just let them run while reading other posts and you are right about it feeling very ancient. I love shows like Vikings and this totally would fit right in there.

Exactly. In the first one, the least word-like of all of them... ALL of those judges had tears in their eyes - despite not knowing a single word. The more I think about the concept, the more I understand what's happening - it's also already affected my own writing (see today's update) - just reading more about what joiking is.

The Sámi would have met Vikings to be sure, but I have a strange feeling that they may have actually preceded the Vikings. (But yes, it has a strong appeal to my very-Viking blood.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62931.02
ETH 3031.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64