Musical Alphabet Challenge

ld-music-3d-fonts-curly-fonts-distorted-fonts-for-android-music-font.png

I have been nominated to complete the Musical Alphabet Challenge, started and issued by @verhp11. He did one a week or so ago and I foolishly told him he should make it a challenge, which he did and of course nominated me as one of the first people to do it. I will say this may be a pretty limited challenge as it takes a lot of time to come up with the songs to use and then the post is lengthy. I'd love to see it take off but time will tell.

Keep Spreading the Music

I will nominateL

  • @calisay - he posts a lot of music and will likely dive into this challenge
  • @dennisauburn - I hope he sees this, I'm not sure he knows when he is tagged, might have to tell him.
  • @veckinon - he is a musician so hoping he wants to share some music.

Feel free to resteem for a broader audience.

The rules

  • You have to mention one song per letter of the alphabet. The song title has to start with that letter
  • Write a small line of text for eacht song, memories or something else...
  • Put a video with every song, if there aren't you can put a soundlink
  • Use the hashtag #musicalphabetchallenge
  • Nominate at least 1 person, the more the better

With all that out of the way, here is my Alphabet Challenge:

A is for Aqualung by Jerthro Tull, an old classic that I like from JT.

B is for Back On The Road Again by REO Speedwagon, my favorite REO Speedwagon song:

C is for Cowboys In Hong Kong by Red Rider, a somewhat obscure 1970s-80s band. This is one of their best in my opinion.

D is for Deadman's Party by Oingo Boingo. I first heard this band when I lived in California in the 1980's. This is their best song.

E is for Every Little Thing She Does is Magic by The Police, another of my favorites from this band.

F is for Fooled Around and Fell In Love by Elvin Bishop a big 1970's hit song that put Elvin on the map. Also on the awesome Guardians of the Galaxy Sound track.

G is for Gypsy Train, a hard rocker from Toto. I like hard rockers.

H is for Highway Star by Deep Purple, had to get one DP song on here, off their landmark album.

I is for In the Garden by Susan Tedeschi, a slow mellow song that I really like.

J is for Just What I Needed by The Cars, whose first album was a masterpiece from around 1980. Lots of great songs on it.

K is for King of the Nighttime World by Kiss. Have to have a Kiss song on here, they rocked America in the 1970s.

L is for Long Train Running by the Doobie Brothers, another of my favorite bands in the 1970s. This off their most popular album, The Captain and Me.

M is for Miss You, Hate You by Joe Bonanmassa, from an early album of his.

N is for New Years Day by U2 my first favorite song from this gigantic group.

O is for Our House by Crosby, Stills and Nash. One of they big hits.

P is for Paranoid by Black Sabbath. Have to have some Sabbath on this list.

Q is for Queen of Spades by Styx. Not my favorite Styx song but Q songs are hard to find.

R is for Rock Candy by Montrose with Sammy Hagar on vocals. This one off their first album, which is pretty f#$king good.

S is for Stairway to Heaven by Led Zeppelin. Did you think I would leave LZ off?

T is for Thunder Road by The Boss, Bruce Springsteen. Another awesome artist.

U is for Under My Wheels by Alice Cooper. One of his early songs, the ones i liked best.

V is for Vasoline by Stone Temple Pilots, a newer group that I like a lot.

W is for We're An American Band by Grand Funk Railroad. Another 1970s giant band and their most famous song.

X is for Xanda by Rush. I liked Rush for before the 1980s. X songs are not easy to find either but glad to find one from one of my favorite bands.

Y is for You Ain't Seen Nothing Yet by Bachman Turner Overdrive, more commonly known as BTO. Lots of 1970s here.

And last but not least, Z which is for Zoot Suit Riot by Cherry Poppin Daddies. I got into the swing craze of the 1990s. This was one of the top such songs and I have the album.

There you have my alphabet music list. There are a lot of other songs that could have made the list but hard to sit down and pick the songs from memory. If you take up the challenge, good luck. Hope you enjoy it.

Rock On!

@bigskycustoms

Sort:  

Wow @bigskycustoms you put one !@# of a list together... A trip to memorylane with some stops between them :) Cool to get to know some new (for me) music too..... Thanks for joining the challenge !!!

thanks. curious to know which songs are new to you?

Cowboys In Hong Kong by Red Rider
Fooled Around and Fell In Love by Elvin Bishop
Deadman's Party by Oingo Boingo
We're An American Band by Grand Funk Railroad

Mostly the older stuff :)

not surprised by the first three but the Grand Funk Railroad song was a huge hit in the mid-1970s. Funny because @calisay said about the same songs. Guess they didn't make it to Europe.

I think so, didn't ring a bell with me... but mid 70's I was about 3 years old :)

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @Scuzzy from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

I am putting together my list. I am at Q and I am stuck. I have a last resort idea if I can't think of one though.

i ended up having to look up songs that started with certain letters by searching via google, X and Z. I noticed you used Xandu also, X was the toughest letter.

Yeah, it was the best x song I could find and one that I actually liked.

A great selection! Just discovered three band that didn't know about before: Red Rider, Oingo Boingo & Cherry Poppin Daddies.
I'll try to find a moment to do the challenge! Give me some time, he,he!

awesome will be looking forward to your choices. It took me 3 days to do mine so, take your time. Red Rider's leader is Tom Cochrane, maybe you heard that name. He went solo later in the 1980s. Oingo Boingo is a So Cal band, they had a song called Weird Science that was in a movie by the same name. Danny Elfman is the leader and he writes a lot of soundtracks also I believe. Cherry Poppin' Daddies were part of the 1990s swing band revival, not sure if they are still around.

Get your post resteemed over 90000+ followers and get upto $21+ SBD value Upvote.
Your post will skyrocket and give you maximum exposer.

<< EXCLUSIVE OFFER >>

WE are giving 20 UPVOTS WORTH 1 SBD AND 10 FOLLOWERS.

Click HERE FOR GET THE OFFER

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57979.07
ETH 3124.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36