Hey Ya!

in #music5 years ago

As you might have noticed, sometimes I like to stop and take the time to simply admire the beauty of life, consciousness and being part of the grand design we experience as reality. Sometimes those things of beauty are creations of nature, or God, or the Gods, according to your particular understanding of that reality, and sometimes they're made by us.


OutKast_in_New_York_small.jpg
source: Wikimedia Commons

Even in modern pop culture, as much as there's opportunity to criticize, occasionally a work of beauty floats to the surface of our shared consciousness (or all of our individual consciousnesses, or a combination of both), a film, a book or a song that becomes so popular that it's rightly seen as a sort of milestone in cultural evolution. I think the 2003 song "Hey Ya!" by Outkast qualifies as such a milestone and stands out as a rather unique cultural phenomenon. In my ears this is the kind of song that upon hearing it, one can't help but cheer up; it's got such an uplifting and happy quality to it, one that I can't really describe and do it justice. And hundreds of millions of people agree, proven by the metrics provided to us by the market economy.


OutKast - Hey Ya! (Official Music Video)

Some time ago I stumbled upon the below linked video I'd like to share with you today. In all those years that I've been listening to this song, all the hundreds of times I must have heard it, I've never really listened to the song's lyrics; it's as if the onslaught of happy emotions prevented me from paying attention to the actual words sung in this world wide mega hit. I've been tricked... Well... It wouldn't be the first time and will most certainly not be the last. It's not a happy song at all, not really. But learning that didn't diminish my admiration of the song, but had the opposite effect. The trickery is nothing short of brilliant; look here, I've got a Polaroid picture for you to shake, don't mind the heartbreak and melancholic tragedy of life and love, just shake that picture. Really, it's alright alright alright alright alright alright alright... Please, enjoy the song and its unwrapping ;-)


The Darker Meaning Behind HEY YA!


Thanks so much for visiting my blog and reading my posts dear reader, I appreciate that a lot :-) If you like my content, please consider leaving a comment, upvote or resteem. I'll be back here tomorrow and sincerely hope you'll join me. Until then, keep steeming!


wave-13 divider odrau steem

Recent articles you might be interested in:

Latest article >>>>>>>>>>>How Profits Make Us Less Humane
Screaming VegetablesSeparate Markets From Capitalism
Transforming (Human) NatureKeep 'M Coming Back For More
Self-Contradicting LibertariansLast Jedi Canceled

wave-13 divider odrau steem

Thanks for stopping by and reading. If you really liked this content, if you disagree (or if you do agree), please leave a comment. Of course, upvotes, follows, resteems are all greatly appreciated, but nothing brings me and you more growth than sharing our ideas. It's what Steemit is made for!
Helpienaut_post_banner_02-01.png

I am a proud helpinaut! @Helpie is looking for new members! Helpie has been growing nicely and we are always on the lookout for new valuable members. We are very supportive and community oriented.

wave-13 divider odrau steem

@helpie is a WITNESS now! So please help @helpie help you by voting for us here!Helpie_01.png

Sort:  

I remember liking this song as a kid (I am 23) and it came up in a playlist recently and I immediately knew it was just about sex from a re-listen, it's pretty obvious if you just pay attention ;)

Hi @zyx066!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.896 which ranks you at #4553 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 86 contributions, your post is ranked at #47.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47