Top 5 fave HAIM songs

in #music6 years ago

HaimGlastoSteemit.jpg
Last month I caught Haim twice on their "Sister Sister Sister" tour and it was great. Their retro sound that mixes together elements of Fleetwood Mac, Prince and other 80s pop sounds with catchy melodies is something I can dig for sure.
Haim are the sisters Alana (keys, percusssion, guitar, vocals), Danielle (guitar, percussion, drums, vocals) and Este (bass, percussion, vocals).

alanahaim160618.jpg
It was really cool at the Alexandra Palace concert I was at that Alana came into the crowd and held our hands. 👍

Here's a countdown of my 5 favourite songs of theirs:

5] Little of Your Love


It came down to the wire with, er, The Wire, but this gets in because it's happy and optimistic, just like the video which probably angers the haters. 😊


4] Forever


This was the first Haim song I really liked. And I noticed the Michael Jackson-isms in the vocals and didn't think they were a coincidence. And watching it live, Este does the best bass faces during the verse.


3] Nothing's Wrong


Really catchy with smooth vocal interplay. It comes in high in this list due to the almost Lindsey Buckingham-esque guitar solo Danielle plays when they do it live. 💯


2] If I Could Change Your Mind


On the record this has a polished 80s production vibe with electro snare sounds and all. The vocals and the song's pre-chorus are super. But it's the live versions that really do it for me. Seriously, Danielle would've been a slick replacement for Mr Buckingham in Fleetwood Mac if you ask me. I love how her guitar solo brings the sun out.


1] Go Slow


Moody and intense with lyrics that are quite heavy hitting. This is number one because it has an authenticity that is pretty much impossible to mimic.

That's my list, and it is just, like, my opinion maaaan.
Here's a Spotify playlist for it: https://open.spotify.com/user/judeoneeight/playlist/2NHbtYRbxQNhxdmaNvY9Qt

Haim have made two albums, Days Are Gone and Something To Tell You
http://haimtheband.com

Sort:  

Cool, I'll have to check them out. Thanks for sharing!

I think my fav is actually #4. So catchy.

Congratulations @zenjuddhism! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55981.35
ETH 2368.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35