Fiddle Friday #8, Billy in the Lowground, p. 1

in #music7 years ago (edited)

I finally got my hands on the Texas fiddle contest version of a song. Michael Weise, my instructor, said this here is a bona fide fiddle tune.

There are 3 pages to this version of Billy in the Lowground. I've been working on this one page pretty much exclusively over the last 5 days. After 11 weeks of playing, I feel like I'm kind of gettin' the hang of this instrument, but I still have a long ways to go.

And here's the sheet music for this week's song.

IMG_5958.JPG

I realize I owe y'all the full version of Cuckoo's Nest. I got a little sidetracked from SteemIt during the 4th of July weekend trip and apparently forgot how to post.

Until I get that full version up, please enjoy this video of my instructor, a multi-year Texas State Fiddle Champion, playing Say Old Man at the 2016 State Championship in Hallettsville, Texas.

Sort:  

Nice post, i love it.
Steem on..
If you don't mind would you check my post and give your upvote to my post?
Thank you, and so happy to get to know you.

Thank you kindly! I try to practice at least a couple of hours every day. I was just playing at least an hour every day, but I soon realized that wasn't going to get me where I need to be. Lol

That look of determination, the fire in his eyes, Uncle Daddy said, "I'll take your bet!" Fire in the mountain, run boy run, devils in the house of the risin sun...

Awesome! Working on getting comfortable with that style myself :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 62134.65
ETH 3418.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51