Entonces, esa extraña voz dijo: "I wanna go to Africa, to the black jah rastaman", y mi vida cambió. -- So, that strange voice said: "I wanna go to Africa, to the black jah rastaman", and my life changed.

in #music6 years ago (edited)


Fuente: discogs.com

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦

Hola, mis apreciados steemianos. Por acá les traigo una historia sobre cómo la música puede cambiar nuestras vidas para siempre...

Yo era apenas un adolescente solitario que estudiaba bachillerato en un internado católico en Los Teques, un pueblito demasiado tranquilo de la Venezuela conservadora de los tempranos ochenta. Yo era uno de esos raros que no tenía amigos y ya había leído La guerra y la paz, de León Tolstoi y estaba tratando de digerir La náusea, de Jean Paul Sartre. Una tarde, mientras intentaba jugar fútbol, -obligado, claro está-, por los altavoces que transmitían alguna emisora juvenil, sonó una extraña voz que parecía venir de lo más profundo del infierno hasta subir a los Paraísos artificiales de los que hablaba Baudelaire. Me paré en seco para escuchar esa canción que no se parecía a ninguna otra que hubiera escuchado antes. Se volvió una obsesión saber quién era y poseer esa voz para siempre.

Meses después de una intensa búsqueda, nunca ha sido fácil aquí comprar música importada, pude hacer sonar al fin en mi tocadiscos a aquella mujer, mitad bruja, mitad ángel azul. Ya mi vida no sería igual. Corté y, -como pude-, teñí mis cabellos. Me convertí en el primer punk en una ciudad donde aún la gente se escandalizaba por los cabellos un poco largos de unos cuantos hippies que se atrevían a salir. A mi paso la gente se apartaba. No era yo en realidad un "chico malo". Simplemente que esa otra música, no la fácil de escuchar, me tocó.

No es fácil de imaginar para quienes viven en países con gran diversidad cultural lo complicado que es tener acceso a la música no convencional. Ahora que existe Dtube, YouTube y demás plataformas para compartir música, le digo a mis estudiantes... -Sí, ahora soy docente en una universidad para artistas, aunque mis cabellos siguen libres-... les digo: "Atrévanse. Piérdanse por esos caminos de las redes musicales. Hay grandes canciones más allá del tumtum de mierda de las radios comerciales..."

Imagino que ya lo saben: aquella canción de mi adolescencia era African Reggae, de Nina Hagen, la Madre del Punk... A ella y a todos los músicos que liberaron mi mente, vaya este homenaje a través de Steemit...

Este es el video original... Por supuesto, en aquellos años era casi imposible verlo, no en Venezuela, al menos... No obstante, el 2 de febrero de 1985 se presentó en vivo en el Teatro Teresa Carreño de Caracas. No pude comprar la entrada, como se imaginarán... pero, para mi sorpresa y consuelo, se presentó en Sábado Sensacional, un show sabatino de la televisión comercial... Qué loco, ¿no?

Esa, que está al comienzo del artículo, es una foto de mi primer disco de Nina, el cual fue un regalo muy especial de un primo muy especial ji ji

Y bueno, antes de despedirme solo me queda invitar a quienes no han tenido la oportunidad de conocer el arte tan creativo de esta gran música, se acerquen a su obra.

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦

Hello, my dear steemians. Here I bring you a story about how music can change our lives forever ...

I was just a lonely teenager who was studying high school in a Catholic boarding school in Los Teques, a quiet village in the conservative Venezuela of the early eighties. I was one of those rare freak people who had no friends and had already read War and Peace, the Leo Tolstoy's novel and was trying to digest Nausea, the Jean-Paul Sartre's novel. One afternoon, while I was trying to play soccer, -obliged, of course-, through the speakers that broadcast some youth radio station, a strange voice sounded that seemed to come from the depths of hell and going up to the "Artificial paradises" of which spoke Baudelaire. I stopped short to listen to that song that did not seem like anything else I'd heard before. It became an obsession for me to know who was singing and to have that voice forever.

Months after an intense search, -it has never been easy here to buy imported music-, I could finally sound on my turntable to that german woman, half witch, half blue angel. My life would not be the same anymore. I cut and, -as I could-, dyed my hair. I became the first punk boy in a city where even yet people were scandalized by the slightly long hair of a few hippies who dared to walk. While as I passed, people moved away. I was not really a bad boy. Simply that that "other music", not the easy one to listen to, touched me.

It is not easy to imagine for those who live in countries with great cultural diversity how difficult it is to have access to unconventional music. Now that there are Dtube, YouTube and other platforms to share music, I tell my students... Oh, yes, now I'm a professor at a university for artists, although my hair is still crazy and free ... I say to them: "Dare without fear, get lost in those paths of musical networks, there are great songs beyond the tum-tum shit from commercial radios "...

I guess you already know: that song of my adolescence was African Reggae, by Nina Hagen, the Mother of Punk ... To her and to all the musicians who liberated my mind, goes this tribute this tribute through Steemit...

This is the original video ... Of course, in those years it was almost impossible to see it, not in Venezuela, at least... However, on February 2, 1985, he performed live at the Teresa Carreño Theater in Caracas. I could not bouhgt the ticket, as you can imagine. But, to my surprise and consolation, she showed up at Sábado Sensacional, a Saturday night show on commercial television ... How crazy, is not it?

That, at the top of the article, is a picture of my first Nina record, which was a very special gift from a very special cousin ji ji

And well, before saying goodbye I can only invite those who have not had the opportunity to know the creative art of this great music, get close to their work.


Fuente: youtube.com

Por supuesto, te seguiré… y tú, ¿me seguirás? -- Of course, I’ll follow you… Would you follow me?
yomismosoy’s Blog

Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Hi your post has been upvoted by vis4, the LGBT+ curation bot! Come and visit us on Discord

lgbtbannerdirty0.png

Punk is the best, tbh.

Punk prepared me to live in this dystopia called Venezuela hehehe... "No future, no future, no future for you" as Sid Vicious said... Lol...

I'll follow you

OHh, wao, muy buen, muy interesante, me tome un gran tiempo para leerlo jejejej
Saludos

Jejeje pues gracias @syedchand786 por ese gran tiempo... ya la escuchaste???

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59789.86
ETH 2418.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43