You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unpopular opinion: Knowing how to read music is not that important.

in #music6 years ago

I don't know how to read music, I kind of know now how to prepare the score for the violin and cello players to read my arrangements but unable to read real time and I'm sad because when learning new instruments most of the materials requires it... I would have loved to learn but I was put in an academy just for one month to learn organ as a child and they took a month to find out I was playing by ear and not really learning to read... my parents considering it expensive and fruitless moved me to typewriting and then I had to learn all I know on my own.

Sort:  

First of all, you're amazing @yidneth in everything you do, so I wouldn't change a thing in that formula! lol

But I do see where you're coming from for sure; it's not at all that I think we should exclude it entirely, but I always struggle with engagement in music classes because it's so difficult to relate the old methods to new music. I think it can have some long-term benefits for sure (and music theory I feel entirely different about, extremely important).

Although I do feel strongly about this opinion, I don't feel it should disappear in the least, just moved down the ladder of what to learn and when.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63893.57
ETH 2528.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65