You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Musical Journey - Part 4

in #music6 years ago

I play only some basic guitar, I have had for a few years but I am usually at the keyboards. Still I would love to learn celtic fingerstyle because even if my music is not celtic it draws influence from it. Now I must repair it, It cracked :( Thanks for sharing your journey, just a note to let you know part 3 link is not working, and remember to give the banjo some love ;) it is waiting for it.

Sort:  

Thanks for reading @yidneth and for the heads-up on the broken link. I've fixed it now.

Celtic fingerstyle is great fun and not always difficult. One tune I play regularly is Catherine Kelly's, a slip jig that I learned from Tony McManus. It's in DADGAD tuning and uses a lot of open strings. I think even someone with basic finger picking skills could pick it up with a bit of practice. I could do a quick video lesson if you're interested?

The banjo thing is kinda frustrating. I had a beautiful mandolin and even got to the stage where I was using it in some live bluegrass shows, but guitar is my first love and I barely have enough time to practice that. So I sold the mandolin to get the deposit for a new guitar. I do kinda regret that, but hey ho. If only I could quit the day job and spend my day playing music, I'd get the banjo going no problem!

Oh maybe it would be a good idea for your dtube videos so we could all learn from it. I only have one proper guitar and then another old one that it is in open tuning (have not tried to play though) I am more a piano based musician. I do some simple strums and recently picked up the guitar to move forward the basics. I play some mountain dulcimer too as I was gifted one by a maker that usually go to gatherings to the ones you describe. I have a collection of instruments that have found my way, and despite not being proficient at any, I believe they sound better when loved. No dust on them! They are meant to be played. Hope to have encouraged you to try! 🎼

Oh maybe it would be a good idea for your dtube videos so we could all learn from it.

That's a GREAT idea. I'll look into getting that going.

I love your sentiment about instruments. DTube has been encouraging me to play my expensive 'investment' guitar!

Thank you for your encouragement!

You are welcome. :)

"DTube has been encouraging me to play my expensive 'investment' guitar!" Guitars always sound better if played regularly, I wouldn't go locking it away, keep it played!! ;)

Totally Martin. The luthier told me the very same thing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62932.98
ETH 3353.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47