My first DTube video! Singing and summoning Steemians with my wind-band - Priscilla Hernandez

in #music7 years ago (edited)


Hello again,

I'm sharing this improvised "Wind incantation" I recorded in Samhain, 1st October 2015. Wind has always been an inspiration and a personal "obsession". I even wrote a song called "The Wind song" in one of my albums. As I mentioned in my introduction post, I love to collect and play rare and folk instruments to layer the sounds in my work, so here is a "Capella" improvisation just with a "wind-band".
Wind Samhain Incantation - by Priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com)-3.jpg

What are wind-bands and bull roarers?

Wind bands are in fact instruments inspired in the "bull roarers", an ancient music instrument consisting in a piece of wood attached to a cord that you just spin to make it buzz. There are archaeological evidence of their existence since the Paleolithic period in several continents. From Scandinavia, to Ancient Greece to Australia, it is found in many cultures with different names. It was used to communicate over distance (the low frequency can travel and be heard several miles away) and also in rituals to keep "evil spirits" at bay and summon good forces.

Wind Samhain Incantation - by Priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com).jpg

Wind bands are a modern type of "bull roarers" and belong too to the same category of music instruments called "aerophones" as the sounds depend on the vibration caused by air against the surface of the instrument. They are very easy to build and the sound it produces is somehow a mix of the didgeridoo and the classic bull roarer. They are usually constructed of wood with a rubber band resonator. It doesn't require any special technique except twirling it with the handle, depending on the speed it can create a variety of sounds and is tune-able to different pitches.

When you spin it it produces a drone sound, kind of eerie and ghostly, the pitch can be changed adjusting the distance of the "dividing piece", if you place such piece in an angle it can create harmonics too. Some stores sell "double wind bands" to mix two tones. As you can see the building plan is rather simple. I love to bring it with me when I hike and I just improvise along with the drone. I love rare instruments, fantasy, myths, legends and music.

Wind Samhain Incantation - by Priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com)

So I hope you like the sound of it in this DTube video... maybe summoning good Steemians here!

Thanks for reading!

If you want to know more about me and my music, please read my introduction post on Steemit here:
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@yidneth/hello-everyone-introducing-myself-my-name-is-priscilla-hernandez-i-create-music-photography-and-art


Priscilla Hernandez
singer-songwriter & illustrator
http://yidneth.com


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

You have amazing voice! :)

Thanks for the compliment. This is an improvisation, though the melody has come a few times and I may do a proper song one day. I wanted to write an article about bull roarers and I love rare instruments. In my introduction post (I'm brand new around ) I posted a video a "finished" song, still I confess I enjoy this kind of spontaneous things. I never go hiking without a flute or something to play along :)

I total aggree awesome voice XD

Aw thank you so much. I improvised it then, I usually compose this way and outdoors. I am an enthusiastic of rare instruments and this video was also the excuse to write a little bit about the story of bull roarers on my steemit blog. Newbie around this community.

I liked your illustrations in the other post, but your singing is even better! :)
Great combination of fantasy and folklore with amazing voice. Can't wait for more!

Thank you so much. There is another "improvisational video" about to be uploaded. In my introduction there is also an example of fully produced song, but I love to play like this too, raw, not perfect out of the moment :*

Ah now I see it, I missed the play button while I was reading it. It looked like photo, I am checking out your youtube channel right now, there is great stuff there :)

Thank you, I hope you like what you find, I have two released albums already, trying to get the third released. Best regards from Spain!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63931.86
ETH 2639.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83