Lauryn Hill - Music that moves you

in #music6 years ago

Lauryn, Lauryn, Lauryn. She just speaks to me.
I don't often call myself a 'mega fan', but I think I might qualify for this lady. 

I've been listening to her since I was about 10 years old. Growing up in the same house as my brother and sister, both over 10 years older than me, I wasn't into the kind of music my school friends were. Except the spice girls of course!
I would listen to my sister's music, often without her knowing. When 'The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill 'came out, around 20 years ago, I must have been about 8 years old.

20 years on and it still feel just as current, emotional and unique as it did 20 years before.

My early teenage years were spent sitting outside my sister's room on the floor, listening to Lauryn and various other soulful music on repeat.  I later stole the CD once she moved out. It will remain my most cherished album ever.

To me she represents power, strength and feminism in it's truest form. She is a voice of guidance through all kinds of life experiences and I connect with her. I connect with the soul, the grit, the hurt and emotion. She takes me somewhere. She makes me feel.

I'm quite funny about music. I think, like art, it's a really personal thing. I like who I like and although i'm always looking to discover new artists, i'm not particularly influenced by what other people like or try and coax me into listening to.

@ingaaa had planned a surprise for my birthday. Last week I found out it was watching a live band perform this very album.


Espresso. In the form of Martini please.


My two beautiful best friends 

Of course I knew every word and yelled the words at the top of my lungs. Sorry person in front of me.
I don't think @ingaaa could have really known what this album meant to me and how it continues to save and change my life through every turbulent stage. @joham joined us too for the surprise! Just so beautiful. Thank you both! This really meant the world and I actually think it's the most beautiful thing anyone has ever done for me.

The first song performed was Ex-Factor. My favourite song of all time, which never fails to make me cry. I've connected so many relationships, so many failings to that song. Of course I broke down in tears. And cried and sang throughout all of it. The cry-sing, one of the most unattractive cries of all! My favourite kind, coincidentally. 

I'm the WORST person to see a live band with. I love live music, but only if it's something I know or like (don't be taking me to any techno shit). I get so lost in the performance, I kind of forget anyone else is around. Something about talented vocalists makes me cry with happiness. I watch talent shows and wail at the best ones. The same goes for Art Galleries. I'll find something truly beautiful, something which speaks to me and I break down and cry. I'm a complete mess and a sucker for real talent.

This was no exception. Incredible talent, incredible performance. Ms Hill would be proud.

Thank you for a truly beautiful evening and experience @ingaaa and @joham

Next stop.. the real Lauryn Hill! She's playing in the UK this year. I'll try and get a handle on my emotions by then...

Are you a fan of Lauryn Hill? Which artist moves you the most?


Yasmine


Sort:  

Awww, Yas. This is such a great post, you really went deep and I love it. I'm so glad I hit the spot and that @joham could join us too. Such a great evening and I'm happy to had shared some tears with you too.

Love you always x

One that moves me? This one.

Not quite your version of move but each time I like to move or go for a walk this does it for me. :-)

Hahaha i'll take that @ace108!

This was such a special, wonderful night with you two! What a perfect pressie from @ingaaa. Glad you enjoyed yourself darling. I'm listening to the album at the moment, such soulful music x

So happy you're getting into it! That makes me happy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59232.68
ETH 2638.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44