INTRODUCTION TO MUSIC 101

in #music7 years ago

I started singing when i was 4,in the teens choir, that's where i got to learn solfa notations, because we were always singing in solfa notation first before we convert to the lyrics. It was fun then, because I was doing what I love doing.
Today, those times has helped me alot, I remember when I was told to handle the choir, while I was serving as a corper in the Redeemed Christian Corpers Fellowship, in Abuja. Then, have not handled such a position before, but a little knowledge I had through my childhood and teenage life helped me.

Screenshot_2016-10-31-23-43-51.png

Screenshot_2016-10-23-12-26-17.png

So today, i will share the music part of myself to this community, the part of myself that keeps me going when the future looks bleak. But I will do that through sharing the following knowledge I have about music

I will be writing on:
Definition of music, and different elements of music

DEFINITION

Music is a vocal or instrumental sound combine in such a way as to produce beauty or form, harmony and expression of emotions. It's also an art form and cultural activity whose medium is sound organize in time.

Element of music

Pitch
Rhythm
Dynamics
Timber and texture

PITCH

Pitch governs melody and harmony.

Anonymous_football_pitch.png.cf.png
openclipart

Imagine the musical pitch as a football ball pitch, when the ball goes out of the pitch, its goes out of play. Same as in music if you go out of pitch, its becomes a NOISE. So the ball has to be played in the pitch for it to be music.

If you go lower the pitch it's called a FRY.
If you go higher its called HIGH PITCH.

RHYTHM

Rhythm is associated with tempo (timing), meter, time signature, note values and articulation. Its the beat, its what drives the music forward, if not mistaken, its the most important element of music; Its the gasoline of music. Its can be even or uneven, steady or unsteady, Its bring enery and fire into a piece.

_img.jpeg
Wonderopolis

DYNAMICS

Dynamics; this has to do with loudness and softness of a piece; its the variations in loudness between notes or phrases. Dynamics are one of the expressive elements of music, its help musicians develop variety and interest in a musical performance. Its brings creativity and communicate a particular emotional state or feeling in a musical piece.

giphy.gif.cf.gif
giphy

TIMBRE AND TEXTURE

Timbre and texture governs the sonic quality of a musical sound.
Just like you can tell a cloth by its feel and texture (Example the texture of a towel and a cotton shirt), you can also recognize music too by the presence of various individual musical pieces in a single combination.

texture-2.jpg
[micksinernestblog](micksinernestblog.wordpress. com)

Texture determines the overall quality of the sound in a piece, it's how the tempo, melodies, and harmonies are combined in a composition. Its one of the essential elements of music. Texture has to do with vocals, and timbre musical instruments.

We will be talking next on a technique in music i love so much; fast run, otherwise called*** RIFFS AND RUNS***, sometimes SCALING.
Though they are all related, they are different thing entirely, so we will look at that.

Thanks for reading🙌🙋🙌

DQmSgvWb7SsQm8TMfvUiyEsbfd7sH3M5YZZa7QRsqV2Q5vk.gif

Sort:  

Where there is love there is life.

- Mahatma Gandhi

This is an amazing post. @yanga. I'm amazed as how one can break down the elements of music as you have done. 👍

I so much admire this article. Thanks for sharing

Nice one brah! Music is life.....

Music is life.. Thanks for sharing.

I love singing too. Am in my church choir

why dont you use a video

Music is therapeutic...thanks for sharing @yanga

That's actually interesting, thanks! I've been into music my whole life, and not so long ago, I even decided to get into music production. I've been creating playlists with music that I download with http://fakaza.net.za/ for a while, and any activities with music are highly entertaining and fascinating to me. I understand that I won't be able to get into the music industry since it's too hard, but it can be a great hobby for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66709.93
ETH 3505.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71