The Quest for the ultimate audio experience - First small steps

in #music7 years ago (edited)

As my sense for audio had been tingled with the previously mentioned Focal 807V's, I started looking for an affordable pair of good quality speakers. I needed some speakers to call my own, but there came the first problem in the audio world, which is : EVERYTHING IS EXPENSIVE, sometimes unbelievably expensive.

Until one day I was shopping in my local Media Markt, and my eyes layed upon these little georgeous bookshelf speakers. They were the Marantz LS502. And boy was I in luck to being able to purchase them for a mere 140 euro's. As these were part of a marantz set with aplifier and high-res dac, the store attendant couldn't exactly figure out what price to sell these, so he sold them to me at import price (a bargain).

Being my first set of speakers, I am obviously biased towards them. These sounded so sweet. No extreme detail, no thundering bass, nothing special actually. But they just sounded nice, just nice. I had them coupled with an integrated Cambridge Audio A500 aplifier and for just 240 euros of total price I was completely satisfied. (but for how long?)

With a soft dome tweeter, a small 4,5 inch midrange/bass driver, small enclosure and just 4kg of weight each they were perfect for a starters pair. These had almost no bass, with the lowest frequency they produced set at a mere 60Hz.
But then again, in the black gloss finish they came, and the sweet sound they reproduced I felt so happy.

marantz 2.JPG

marantz speakers 1.JPG

marantz 3.JPG

Previous posts through this journey :

http://steem.link/First-Encounter

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @xyzposter to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by toro from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63686.15
ETH 2727.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59