Must listen to albums - Joy Division - Unknown Pleasures

in #music7 years ago (edited)

This album came out back in 1979, as the punk era was falling away. They had a short time in the lime light before the tragic suicide of their lead singer. The remaining members became New Order but that music never reached the fragility present in the lyrics of the late Ian Curtis.

(

)

This is rich in early electronica and is a band that influenced so many artists since. You can hear their sound in many artists today and this album cover is still common on t-shirts even today.

The stand out tracks for me are:

  • Shadowplay
  • Day of the lords
  • Candidate
  • I remember nothing

Feel free to recommend albums below, always like to find hidden gems :)

Woz

Sort:  

I like som of their stuff. But I am more fan of New Order in wich they turned into after Ian Curtis passed.

She's lost control, is pretty good on this album.

Respect that view but they lost me some after the change, never captured that rawness again for me :)

Something about Curtis that let you see into his inner self :)

Yea, I can see that. But don't get me wrong. I like Joy Division, but I Love New Order. :-)

Think it was a heavy bad relationship breakup that pushed me into NO:

Joy Division and New Order were both really controversial names at the time

Yep, music has a way of hooking into our emotions at the time.

NO played Glastonbury headline when I went, Think it was 84/85. So long ago hard to remember :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59907.23
ETH 2647.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43