You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: RAW SELECT QUICKIE: Miles Davis - So What

in #music6 years ago

For learning, or practicing, improvisation, the modality of Kind of Blue, gives a trumpeter or saxophonist a rare peak into what can be done with just a range of notes on the scale. I remember listening to this album and just spacing out. Then I would just play notes and go with them; sometimes I would hear something wonderful and other times a confused mess. It really allows you to play as if you're in a maze and looking for a way out. On this album, Davis and Coltrane show us the perfect maze and the path. Anyway, nice selection.

Sort:  

I stumbled across a video on YouTube that was kind of explaining the theory behind modal jazz, and while the technical stuff flew way over my head (I’m still a music theory light weight), I did find it interesting to hear it talk about how modal sort of opened a lot of avenues for musical expression.

But even from a laymen’s standpoint, I still feel like this is the jazz album that anyone can get into, and like you said, get lost in.

Thanks for the insightful comment. Much appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58211.91
ETH 2476.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38