You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why "Centuries" by Fall Out Boy is the Worst Song in the World

in #music7 years ago

Something about this song kind of annoyed me as well, but I never really thought about why.

There are some songs that I just want to turn off the radio when I hear them. I think that it has something to do with when a rhyme is so obvious that you know what's coming before they even say it, like "Look at this photograph. Every time I do it makes me laugh."

By the time he said 'photograph' your brain filled in "something, something laugh." the first time you heard it. No one says 'photograph' when they could say 'picture' or 'photo', so it's kind of forced. The easiest rhyme is laugh. There you go.

This is probably why most songs wear out over time.

But one thing about the post bothered me too - it was fun and cathartic to read you blasting a song that you hate, that's probably why you wrote it too. But you hardly mentioned anything that you did like or why it's good. I would like to see your opinion on how to use repetition well, or hold it up against a song that tried to do the same things, but was better, or a better song that sampled Tom's Diner (tonnes).

Sort:  

Fair enough. This is probably the only really negative post I've written; check some of my old posts for some nicer reviews :-) I'm glad you made this point though, I think I owe the steemisphere a nice positive music post in the near future.

You're right about the catharsis; like I said I've been hearing this song almost daily including this morning, so as soon as I got home I decided to get it off my chest once and for all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60728.87
ETH 2661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50