You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A few intruments I built from scratch... or my memories of being a luthier

in #music7 years ago

These are absolutely exquisite. Beyond the basic instruments themselves, the woodcarving and detailing show tremendous skill and patience. You must have had some skill and practice in woodworking before you started these, right? Just to be able to understand and fashion tools like that...

Have you ever build a hurdy-gurdy? I'm obsessed with the sound of them, but from what I've found a good one costs as much as a decent grand piano.

Sort:  

Thanks again. I studied 3 years and I had a shop for 2 years and had no prior experience in related field. This is sample of my work during that period 1995/2000. I had a plan for a hurdy-gurdy in my shop and did consider building one for a longtime but the complexity of the mechanism seems like to much... A band I really like is call Malicorne (strangely enough it sound at time like Richard Dawson, an artist I found out about just minutes ago, but a french version. I mention them because they use this instrument alot.

cool - really liking this, thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58430.35
ETH 2623.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42