You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Hurdy Gurdy - An Ancient Instrument With A Modern Sound

in #music7 years ago

Thanks for the plans. I love that the schematics are rendered in ASCII!!! Could be a really fun project, though.

You're right, playing on something cheaper would be a good way to try it out and see if I was going to stick with it. (Too bad you can't just rent one for a while.) And there are some basic models close to $1000. But then I think, "Hmm, if I really love this, I'm out the $1000 and still have to pay the $3000 for the one I want..."

I love Tim Hecker. I listen to a lot of that sort of drone music while writing. It's great for setting a mood. That's probably why hurdy gurdy stuff works too. You're probably familiar with Ben Frost, but if not I'd recommend checking him out too!

Sort:  

If I had any woodworking skills I'd give it a shot to see how it might turn out.

Yeah, I get what you mean, at those prices it's almost better to save up for the more expensive one. In my case the things I buy to try out are much cheaper so it's not too bad. For example I bought a cheap ukulele for €20 and learned a few chords on it, after I had realised how much I enjoy playing it I bought one for €80, and now I'm just waiting for enough disposable income to justify buying one in the €100-€300 range.

I'm only really familiar with Hecker's Virgins album but have been meaning to listen to some more. And Ben Frost's name sounds familiar to me but I don't know if I've heard any of his music, I'll have to check him out later, thanks for the recommendation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64814.42
ETH 3450.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52