Operatic Female Voices at the Fringes of Metal Music - Diamanda Galas and Laure Le Prunenec

in #music7 years ago (edited)

A couple of months ago I set out to explore some music which I hadn't really listened to that closely - metal. What I was really craving was something with the power and emotional punch of heavy metal, but crafted with a bit more musicality and vocal control.


Image source: Youtube


I wanted a strong female vocalist. And not just a pair of tits in a leather top, throat-screaming to disguise her limited range as she pounds out the same four chords over a chugging bass-line. I was craving well-directed vocal power, in the service of something new.

@the-dagda hit the nail directly on the head for me with his suggestion of French "baroquecore" group Igorrr. I've been listening to them regularly ever since, particularly their newest, most mature album, Savage Sinusoid.

They throw just about every musical influence they can into their work, including the soaring operatic vocals I was craving.

This video is a nice example of what they can do, and it features a sweet and thought provoking animation which I think deserves more attention (views) than it's gotten.

Anyway, just last year Igorrr branched out with another project, Corpo-Mente, which takes a more acoustic- instrumental approach to their music. I think it does an even better job showcasing the vast vocal power of their lead singer, Laure Le Prunenec.

Needless to say, I'm in love. I don't even have to understand what she's singing about.

Check out this live performance:

Listening to Laura sing brought me back to another old favorite - one I hadn't listened to in a while. I suddenly realized I had overlooked one who may be the most "metal" singer who lives - even if she doesn't necessarily perform what most would think of as heavy metal music.

Have you heard of Diamanda Galas?

There's really nothing else like her in the world of music. She sings, she hollars, she screams, she chants. She... there really aren't enough words for what she does with her voice. (She's also a great pianist.) And she can apply it equally well to jazz, opera, rock, and whatever you might call her own, inimitable style.

Here's her take on an old classic. It's a slower piece, but don't worry, we'll get a little "harder" soon.

The eight legs of the devil are crawling up my spine... Chills, right?

Here's another classic, reinterpreted. We're a long way from Hank Williams' score on "I'm so Lonesome I Could Cry":

While it seems like she's skating right on the edge of chaos for most of her performances, you never feel like she's got anything but total control over what she's doing.

Here she is taking you through "The Fever Hospital," a path that winds between classical, electronica, poetry recitation, and opera.

Her work gets even more intense in her album "Songs of Exile," in which she sings of the Greek genocide at the hands of the Turks. In the tradition of the Greek lamentation singers that were her ancestors, the album ends with a call for revenge on those that destroyed her culture. A man without a God cannot be burned alive. He never was alive... (You do not want to piss this woman off.)

Of course, the most "metal" thing she has ever performed was her "Litanies of Satan." It's not easy listening, but it's quite a trip. Performed completely a capella, it's an exploration of vocal extremes you're not likely to hear anywhere else.

Not to say she doesn't have a sense of humor. Here's a piece that's full of good advice (and maybe describes herself, a little bit):

She's been doing this a long time, so there's lots more of her work out there to explore. I'm hoping Laure Le Prunenec has as long and as fruitful a career, and we can enjoy as many varied performances from her in the future.

What do you think of these singers?

As always, I'm eager to explore more music, so if you have any suggestions along these lines I'd love to hear them!

Sort:  

Hi @winstonalden,

I just wanted to thank you for creating this post, and let you know that it was shared on the Steemit's Best Classical Music facebook page, and also included in Steemit's Best Classical Music Roundup [Issue #17].

It's a day for synchronicity - I just saw the post on your feed!

Thanks so much for the mention - it's an honor to appear in your roundup.

Didn't listen to anything in full, cos there's a lot, just skim-listened, but the Litanies of Satan does sound adept, and I never heard, in any horror movie, anything that sounded so much like what you'd expect Devil possession to sound like!

Igorrr was also my favorite discovery in your previous post, but I prefer their videos to this acoustic version.

Their videos are intense, aren't they? Corpo Mente seems to be an entirely different project with a different feel, but Laure really lets loose in a few of the tracks.

I probably did share too many videos - it took me ages to whittle down what I loved best of Diamanda's work to this long list. She's done so much, and every album is so unique.

Congratulations @winstonalden! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68363.69
ETH 2642.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69