Chamber Orchestra Performing Omgyjya Switch by Aphix Twin

in #music7 years ago

If you’d told me there was a classical orchestra performing the hyper-kinetic electronic work of Aphix Twin, I would have said it couldn’t be done and probably shouldn’t.

But hot damn, if this isn’t the most fun I’ve ever had watching an orchestra.

There’s several great performances of this orchestra, Alarm Will Sound, posted to Youtube. I know, because I just lost a few pleasant hours to them.

If you feel compelled to explore more Aphix Twin, start with Drukqs. There’s some great fusion of electronic and traditional sounds in that album. Aphix Twin (which is really just the DJ/electronic musician Richard David James) has produced a tremendous body of work. But Drukqs is what I keep going back to as I try to explore his other stuff and discover it might just be a little too hardcore for these innocent ears.

Personally, I think these "classical performances" are a great way to bring some interest back to our musical roots, and maybe win some converts to orchestral and chamber music who otherwise might never listen to "classical". And as the video above shows, the results can be surprising - quite different from the original, but possessing a unique charm of their own.

What are your thoughts on interpreting electronic/experimental music with traditional instruments? Is it a flashy stunt or a worthy endeavor?


This article has been updated from where it originally appeared on my blog, The Pipe And Grumble, which has gone into a long hibernation.
Sort:  

I think it's always a worthy endeavor to allow the expression of music in any form. I had a lot of fun watching and listening too! :)

Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts!

wow, awesome sounds! Thanks for share ^_^

That was pretty cool, and so are you Winston, I like how you are always expanding your horizons. A rare quality ...

Thanks, Lyndsay. So many horizons, so little time...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58020.27
ETH 2464.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37