Looking to record music on a very low budget, where to start?

in #music5 years ago

I'd like to record some high quality demos and am on a budget. I'm hoping I can get everything for less than $300 usd. I want to record accoustic guitar, vocals, djembe and use some effects and mess around with what I record. I have a crappy old ipad, an Asus M1 running on Android, and a sketchy PC that I don't know how long it will last.

What do I need? audio input? app? mic? headphones?

I'd like to be able to record multiple tracks that sound good on the Android and then later when I get a new PC import that to Ableton and work on there. Any ideas?

Upvotes will go towards helping me buy better equipment! and I may drop some SBD to the best answers!

Sort:  

Android doesn't have a lot in the way of quality music production and i'm not aware of any hardware made specific for it. i have audio evolution which will do multitrack and usb hardware apparently..i don't use it much as the interface s confusing..anyway hardware wise something like
https://djcity.com.au/product/focusrite-scarlett-studio-2nd-gen-recording-package/?gclid=CjwKCAiAiarfBRASEiwAw1tYv1hnsd_gkMYNBz7seBaAP7-CyUOjQ2j4qpVcp2easVbsHce5dkq-rRoCjwMQAvD_BwE

if you dont have anything.

Cool, a set with everything I need!

Do you think djembe would be ok with the mic or no?
Also, could I use the audio input with both pc and iPad?

I second stuff commented here, Find a very quiet place; no AC, traffic etc. See what feedback and white noise you get from phone mic or similar. Usually not terrible these days. EQ fuzz out, boost the mid/lows to taste.

Or use the PC to record with a $90 mic, then get it off ASAP to mix on something more reliable =D

How does one develop a sensitive ear? I feel really blunt when it come to audio levels. I know what sounds bad but I can’t tell the difference between ok and good.

Thanks for the reply!

Practice I guess. And a good pair of open-design headphones. For this I just think anything that squeals or hisses to be considered bad... the obvious stuff. I'd be happy to help too, as the others said =)

Since you're on such a tight budget, I'd start by trying out the inputs on the devices you already have. Try recording on each device using an old headset mic or something. If you play it back and there's not a lot of fuzz, you can probably just use that device to record. You can do a lot with a dynamic mic like a Shure SM58 or a knock-off version of one. It'll work well for the vocals and djembe, but for the acoustic guitar, I'd say buy a pick-up that you can put in the hole.

The interface that @xist mentioned would probably be great, except that you said you're not sure how long your PC will last.

I haven't recorded much for a while, but I did do low budget recording for years so I might be able to offer some tips. Hit me up on Discord

I think the pc will be ok, I’m more worried about installing expensiveness software on it. I’ll probably replace it by the summer

Thanks! The set above looks great and I’ll check out that mic you mentioned too. I’ll find you after work!

Hi @whatamidoing!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.009 which ranks you at #1066 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 1067).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 239 contributions, your post is ranked at #33.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93