Paging all synth geeks and/or Ableton Live users!

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Where my synth heads at? My ableton crowd? I know there is some of you browsing this uncharted territory of block-chain social networking, and I want to hear what you can do!

I have an extensive patch bank I have made myself with most of the popular digital synths including Serum, FM8, Massive, Strobe, etc. I would love to share my patches or synthesis techniques! Get in touch with me and we can share our beloved synth patches or techniques!

Or just comment here! If people show interest, I will certainly give out presets for free here. I am not selfish with these things, if someone else can make use of what I have made then that is a wonderful thing to me!

For me, I personally love detuning 2 of my oscillators down .03-.07 semitones in the opposite direction - especially for low sub tones or pads for chord layering. The detuning creates an amazing sense of movement. Try it if you haven't and please show me some of your techniques!

I also use Ableton Live, and have gone deep into designing racks to make production easier. My favorite tip I could give to someone is to bank up their samples into what we call a 128 rack - that is a rack that has a macro set to switch a sound on each midi note! This way you can have a very modular rack depending on the song you are creating and find just exactly the perfect snare, hat, kick, what have you. If you are not sure how to do this, you really should learn if you are an Ableton Live user. Here is a great tutorial explaining how:

So with all that said, I really hope there is a synthesis/DAW(Digital Audio Workstation) crowd browsing this site! I know there are some of you here. Speak up! Lets get a geeky synth discussion going :). If you are a music maker and have not jumped on the DAW bandwagon yet, I strongly suggest you do. It will empower you as a musician and drive you to a whole new creative level if you take the time to learn it - trust me - it is very worth it.

Sort:  

yo wally, i'd be psyched to check out any patches you'd be willing to share, especially for ableton's native instruments and effects. (I have been on a kick of trying to limit myself to only using live's bundled plugs and max4live patches (and audio samples of course) to try and get as comfortable as possible with the tools that run most efficiently within the environment.) lookin forward to see what this realm will grow into and how it can benefit us 'sound organizers'.

I use Cubase for many years and love it. I've used Logic, Pro Tools 9, and early Digital Performer. All are great, except I'm not a Pro Tools guy...kinda buggy and expensive, if you ask me.

Followed! I am looking to maybe give reason a try now that they support VST. Pro tools is just too much for me as well, I feel like any other DAW is so much cheaper and has just as many features. You can get the wave plugins if you need them anyway. What kind of music do you make?

I really like Reason. But I also used it within Cubase rather than just stand alone. The two make a powerful duo using REWIRE. Protools is way to expensive and probably won't compete against the new DAW's and hardware coming out today for much cheaper and similar quality converters. I also have the wave plugins. I love them. They are very useful and give a more professional sounding results. I also like Slate's stuff. Even better! I write all kinds of music as a producer. From Rock, to hip hop beats, to country, and now I have a relaxation music channel to help people chill out. A lot of it is orchestrated. I have a bunch of synths and lots of VI's. My fav being Native instruments Kontakt collection. Take care and nice meeting you. Chris :)_

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60699.39
ETH 2655.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59