Resolution: My Final Song of 2017

in #music6 years ago

resolutioncover.jpg

I can't believe that 2017 is almost over. This year has brought me so many fantastic memories and lessons I'll be able to take with me for years to come!

My new song is called Resolution. The reason I chose this name for my song is because Resolution will be my final song of 2017. It's also going to be the final song I produce on my old laptop. And it will be the song that carries my music into 2018.

When I was working on this song, I wanted it to have that old school vibe to it instead of focusing on making it sound organic and real. Because of that, I chose to do a few things different than I normally do. The piano has that over-compressed pop sound, the drums are programmed with a very simple pattern, and I left out several orchestral elements in favor of two different pad sounds that support the piano.

Even though I wanted the song to have that old school vibe to it, it was very important to me that it sounded modern. Especially with the drop, I combined elements of future bass, dream trap, and even a little tropical house. I really enjoy combing different genres of music because it sounds different from everything else that's out there, and it also forces me to be creative.

Please enjoy :)

Sort:  

I really love the melody

Thanks for checking it out! I'm glad you like the melody :D

cool tunes and mix of old and new sounds.
happy new year to you as well.

Thank you so much for checking it out! I'm glad you like my style :) Happy New Years!

I am certain if you keep creating original independent music and sharing it on steemit, we are all going to have a happier 2018.
Thanx for the inspiration. How is your new song coming along?

Thank you so much for the kind words :) It's coming along a little slower than usual, but I plan on dedicating a lot more time to it tomorrow!!

Great energy!!!
I love the way you mix classic piano with this kind of music...and how u change from this to what I hear at 0:47!
I don't know the right way to say it in a technical language LOL, but I love it!!
Great song!

Have a great day and best wishes for the new year's eve! :D
.TheCatInTheBox.

Thank you so much for checking it out :D And I'm glad you like how I try and fuse different styles of music.

Happy New Years to you as well :)

oh wow! this is awesome :) how long have you been making music? and if you don't mind me asking, what program do you use - i've wanted to look into mixing and making music, but I have no idea where to start. Looking forward to hearing more!

Thank you so much :D I've been producing for about 7 years and I've been serious about it for about 3 years. I use Reaper to produce everything because I think it's the easiest and most flexible DAW. And if you want to start, I'd absolutely recommend that program along with the Slate Digital everything bundle for mixing/mastering. What kind of music did you want to make?

ahh ok whats DAW? I would truly be beginning from scratch - like needing one of those "music producing for dummies" books haha. I was thinking some electronic type mixes or even remixes, I have no idea what would be within my reach as a noob! :P

Lol no worries. It stands for Digital Audio Workstation. Basically, it's what you use to make music! So there are thousands of tutorials out there, but if I'm being completely honest a lot of them are confusing. I was actually planning on posting more on music production this week, and I'll make sure I give you some good resources as well :D

Oh YAY! I will look out for that :) you are awesome!

I LOVE it!

Yay! I'm glad you like it!

This is ace!
There were so many times I thought the piano was going in one direction and then it totally took off and caught me by surprise!

Long Live your old computer! It's served you well, but I'm excited to see what the new rig produces... will it change your workflow at all? Access to new programs?

Again this music just makes me want to make videos to put behind them... I can't wait until someone huge discovers you... also, have you tried putting these on D.Tube as well? It's annoying, but the ol @dtube upvote is worth like $50...

Thank you so much! And I can't wait to start work on my new rig. My old one only had 6gbs of ram, so my songs would keep crashing after working on them for a while. And loading a lot of orchestral samples was a nightmare lol. I recently moved all of my stuff over to my new pc and it is so fast! So it will definitely make everything easier!!!

And I haven't thought about dtube... I'm a little confused on how it works to be honest. Would you be able to explain to me how to set it up?

That's so good... my wife is stuck at the moment... she has two MacBooks and has run out of space on both of them and it's all a bit complicated.

Of course... so D.Tube is like YouTube... you load videos on there... but it links straight to your Steem feed. So today I posted my December goals video on DTube and you can see it as a normal post of mine... the thing is, that the @dtube account often upvotes good videos, and that vote is worth $50ish... and people browse Dtube specifically... so you kind of get the best of both worlds.

You log onto DTube with your Steem userid and password... but for some reason it only works for me in Firefox. Upload a video like you do in YouTube.

Let me know if you need anymore info... happy to help with any steps.

Thanks for responding. And that's rough... Isn't it amazing how much memory we get these days and how we still run out so quick?

Okay, that makes sense. I wasn't sure if I'd have to make another account but that sounds pretty easy. I'll post some of my music on there this week :) Thanks for the tip! And Happy New Years!!!

Hahaha, My laptops have gotten big and faster... but all my programs just use that up way quicker... Photo files are suddenly 50MB each... it's nuts... but pretty great as well.

Have a great time tonight!

i just tried to upload yesterday but it's a bitch

Hahahaha, this might be the best comment ever!

love the soft interlude in the second quarter

Thank for listening to it! Glad you like that part bro :)

Good post, I am a photographer, it passes for my blog and sees my content, I hope that it should be of your taste :D greetings

Good!! changes in the rythms sound great!

Thanks for checking it out and I'm glad you like it :)

i love this. the arrangement is awesome. the fade out to was amazing.

nice work!!!!

Thanks! I'm so glad you liked it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97