#1 Road towards the stereo setup of my dreams - How it all began

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Fellow steemians, audiophiles and audio enthusiasts.
In this series I'll be writing about my road towards the stereo setup of my dreams, in todays post I'll be writing how Hi-Fi and stereo started for me and what my first proper setup was.

It all started with my good friend (@xyzposter), which back than I just met. He showed me his setup back than which were the Marantz LS502 and they literally blew me away, but what would you expect if the only sound system at home was a cheap All-in-One stereo setup from Sony.
At that moment I knew I wanted a real Stereo setup myself, so I started looking arround. Due to the limited space in my room and a fear for buying used products I looked arround for active monitor speakers that I could connect directly to my computer. After some searching and reading reviews I was almost certain about the ADAM A3X's. So I went to a local dealer in studio equipment and asked for a demo of the A3X's and others he could recommend arround the same price range. And thats where I struck onto the Genelec 8020C monitors. I instantly fell in love with them and bought them right away.

Genelec8020C.jpg

SpecsGenelec8020C

Once home I stumbled on a major problem, connecting the monitors directly on my computer resulted in MOBO noise through the tweeters. I quickly bought a FiiO E10 headphone amp (used) and gone was my problem.

I was finally able to enjoy my first stereo setup in all its glory! The highs and mids were super detailed and direct, so were the lows but I rather shortly found the urge for more bass... So I bought a Yamaha HS8S subwoofer to complete the system.

IMG_20160320_132139.jpg

When I took delivery of the subwoofer I couldn't wait a second so I immediately unboxed and connected the subwoofer, sadly I stumbled on a ground loop problem. I was able to resolve the ground loop with a simple ground loop isolator.
Although I was satisfied with the listening experience, I knew the FiiO was holding everything back. So I started looking arround for a better option, maybe a high-end receiver with balanced outputs... After some searching together with my friend (@xyzposter) I found an amazing deal. An Onkyo PR-SC886 with a 'broken' HDMI port for just a mere 150€, I didn't hesitate and picked it up.

IMG_20150526_155542.jpg

And there it was, my first proper stereo system which was my holy grail for a good year.

What do you think about my first Stereo setup?! Let me know in the comments below!

Sort:  

I liked your post, and I asked my friends to vote for him! Best Regards @zlo

Thank you very much :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65800.35
ETH 3464.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68