Sound Engineering and Music Production blog #11

in #music6 years ago

Hey, Steemians! So, today I will discuss an interesting topic- Headphones!
Being an audio guy, I will say there are 2 types of Headphones:

  1. Closed back:
    These are used in recording. The artist is given closed back headphones for foldback since they isolate the listener from external noises and bleed is avoided in these headphones.


  2. Open back:
    These headphones are a better option for mixing purpose since they sound more spacious and airy. These can't be used for recording because they leak the sound out of the earpieces.

There are other technical aspects such as impedance, THD(total harmonic distortion), frequency response, SPL etc. These are similar to any other audio equipment. Reading the user manual will help you understand these technicalities. I won't go too deep into that because if I do that I will be discussing more of electronics rather than audio.

That's it from my side about headphones. Comment your views, share knowledge, upvote if you like and do check out my other blogs as well.

Thank You.

Sort:  

I have Dt-770, love them. But but favorite are AKG K-240 from 20 years.

indeed both are really good.

Great to see another fellow audio guy in the community! Simple and straight forward. Good one @vishweshv

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64112.50
ETH 3174.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54