You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Movie Recommendation - A collab between Moebius and René Laloux ( Les Maitres du Temps, 1982 )

in #music6 years ago

Nice to see you popping up in my comments section for a change.

I'm glad to have been able to provide you with an animated gem that you hadn't seen yet.

Have a great day and thanks again for your constant support! :>)

Sort:  

So I watched it finally. Wasn't a fan but it was certainly interesting.

The actual animation part was not up to snuff, even for the times, and the voice acting was really terrible. The plot was disjointed, almost episodic, while the boy was lost in the forest about to be eaten by brain eating hornets. But man it was a trip and some of the images in stillness were fantastic. The ending was a nicely executed bow.

I watched Rififi last night by way of contrast (and to prove I'm not a francophobe) and it was a banger, show but don't tell, maybe a 25 minutes period of time where there was no talking, just men, hard men, Rififi men, going about the business of thieving jewels. Great stuff.

Has anyone ever told you that you should write movie reviews?

The above really makes me feel like giving it another watch myself. In fact, it reminds me of similar feelings I had, at the time.

Then again, I felt there was so much to enjoy that I forgave the film for all its flaws.

And talking about Rififi, it inspired me to do a post on classic French movies. I wonder how many of those you've seen and how you like(d) them

Bye for now,

Vincent

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63099.80
ETH 2455.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58