Music is magic, music is emotion #44 : Glennis Grace

in #music6 years ago (edited)


Source

This I have to share, I'm thrilled about this one, and I can't seem to type quick enough to share it with you........

I always had a weak for Glennis Grace, she is a dutch singer who started her career in 1994 when she won (at age 15) the Dutch soundmixshow. The sounmixshow was a huge hit in the Netherland, you can say a predecessor of the talentshow's we see today like The Voice of Holland and Idols. The stranges thing was that she did not really made it as a singer after that she won that show. Her singles and albums didn't do anything in the charts and people were forgetting her quickly.

She did sang intro's and songs especially for shows in National Television, but always in the background....
Then things changed when she participated in a music show called "De Beste zangers van Nederland" which means "The best singers of the Netherlands".. This was a very popular show where a group of (individual already famous) artists battled eachother with singing. They had to sing songs from eachother and were aloud to make a bit of a own version of it...

In this show Glennis performed the song "Afscheid" from the dutch band Volumia. The song was a ballad which is about saying goodbye.. A real love ballad. She made this song her own.....and to be honest I thought her version was way better than the original. (that's also because I can't stand the singer of Volumia lol, he's the one screaming Whoo and so on)..


Source

The clip above and the one below are both from that show. And like I always say that music is magic and music is emotion. I get chills from the other guests on the couch... sincerely moved by the singing of Glennis...


Source

Her participating in this show was her absolute breaktrough in the Netherlands. With the first song she ended up higher (number 1) in the Dutchs charts than Volumia itself and finally there was her reward for putting up years and years in the background of the Dutch music scene.

After that things went well and quickly for Glennis. She was suddenly one of Holland's best singers, although I thought she was already for a long time...

line.jpg

Whitney Houston


Glennis is often compared with Whitney Houston, and the main reason for that is because she has sang a lot of Whitney's repetoire and she won the first show with a song of Whitney. Some people say that it's the only 'trick' she know's, imitating Whitney Houston. My opinion is that she indeed sounds a lot like Whitney but that's her voice, there is nothing that she can do about that... And yes, of course it's great when she sings a Whitney song and perfectly approach the original, but she is more, way more than just 'a imitator'...


Source

But you can decide for yourself, in the video above she sings Whitney's hitsong "I will always love you".... Just listen to the dynamics she uses....and do me a favour....close your eyes for a moment....

line.jpg

The other side of Glennis


Glennis featured in 'The Ladies of Soul' , this is a cooperation of some of the best female singers in Holland which bring a ode to music in general. In the next video Glennis performes the Beyonce hit "Halo"


Source

These show's got some good reviews in the Dutch press.. And I understand why of course, it is a very good production with a great backline of musicians but most of all some of the greates dutch female singers.. Never been to a show, but everthings just right, the video's are the living proof of that..


Source
Glennis together with Berget Lewis, also very talented lady..

In all the years Glennis is already in showbizz, she has had so many faces :)

glennis.jpg

line.jpg

Glennis goes US


Yes you read it right, Glennis is going (or had already been I must say) to the United States of America to participate in the TV show "America's got talent" of Simon Cowell... She auditioned and with succes... The jury loved her and she got a full blown 4 times yes of the jury.... And I think that was the only thing they could do!!


Source

I thinks she will be in the show until the final, and then the prize is her's ;)... No serious, I do think she has a good chance to win because she got it all, the looks, the confidence, the voice and the stage presence..... So we will see...

In the US they are speechless looking at all the reactions on YouTube and in the press..


Source

line.jpg

Verhp11's opinion


Well, what can I say.... She is really amazing. She has been slaughtered quite often in the Dutch press for all sort of non-things... She came from far and she finally is getting the recognition she deserves for so long... I can have nothing else then respect for somebody that believes in themselve and do the thing they want to do the best, most and chassing their dream.. And that is just what Glennis did and does....

So if you want to do me a favor, I would love to get her voice spread across Steemit, so I would appreciate a upvote for her (not for me).... Thank you very much..

Have a great day


Alt text
Proud member of SMG


I fully support @s3rg3 and @exyle, who are witness with their developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support them, they would appreciate your vote here.


They are the creators of Steemify, THE notification app for your Steemit account for IOS.


steem-banner.jpg

Sort:  

she really made a strong impression our Dutch star

She did for sure, respect to that powerwoman....for all those years it's about time she will been seen worldwide :)

And guess what , she is really Nice and a great mum

Nothing beats the Dolly Parton original of I will always love you. Just kidding. I think they both stand alone on their own. I don't watch America's got Talent, but I will have to check her out. It's always nice to see someone get what they deserve!

The original is cool too :) But do check her out, you won't regret :)

Very cool post, Peter. I have scribbled myself a note to remind me, and will be listening to Glennis tonight for my Friday night relax-wine-cocktail time. I always love to discover new music and artists, and have not heard of her. Much gratitude.

thank you very much. Discovering new music is great, it broadens the horizon :)

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

thinks she will be in the show untill the final, and then the prize is her's ;).
It should be until instead of untill.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54034.48
ETH 2262.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31