Music is magic, music is emotion #26: Jimi Hendrix, thanks Steemit

in #music6 years ago

When I was discovering the guitar I (of course) was looking up to all the great guitar players. But a strange thing was that I really never had very much with Jimi Hendrix (sorry). In the beginning I couldn’t really get used to his combination of guitar play and (my opinion then, again excuse me) some laid back singing. I think at that time I still couldn’t make the combination together which made the music just different than others. Besides that, the time that I was discovering guitar players, there were already so many good/great/awesome that at that time I did’nt think Jimi was the greatest guitar player (for me by the way he still isn’t, but he is getting close 😉 )

You know what they say, your getting wiser when you getting older. When I started to listen again to different kinds of music to broaden my musical knowledge and to get some other influences I did start to listen to Jimi and Stevie Ray Vaughan a lot and realized that what the did for their time was absolutely stunning. In my early days 😉 a guitarplayer for me was a player who shredded his guitar like a madman, guys like Joe Satriani, Steve Vai and John Petrucci among others. Of course they are still great players which I love a lot, but getting older I listen to all kinds of guitar players as long as the music moves me. So I started to listen to different blues musicians like BB King, John Lee Hooker and Stevie Ray Vaughan, but still I didn’t pay any attention to Jimi….

So when did I really got interested in Jimi, believe it or not, but it is since a few weeks. Since I am on Steemit and shared music with you all and get some great advises back. I was discussing great musicians with @melbookermusic and he mentioned Eric Gales, a great guitarplayer. I listened to Eric in my car, watched several video’s of him on YouTube (sorry @dtube , no Gales yet on dTube). Eric plays his guitar a little like Jimi, the other way around, but he also play’s the strings in the opposite. Quite remarkable, never seen it before. But of course it is all about the music, Eric is one special guitarplayer. While I was listening to some songs YouTube suggested I came across Hendrix songs, and listening to them in a different way I used to do I realized he was some kind of a musician. Besides the tricks and show he performed his sound and emotion in his playing is phenomenal, is takes you back to the late 60’s / early seventies.

The next clip gives a good representation of what I mean. Without a doubt, he is a master.

I have seen a lot of amateur bands in my life, in local pubs, bigger venues, of which a lot of cover bands. I think more than half of them did play ‘Hey Joe’ in some kind of version. Also a lot of the famous guitarplayers did play this song, but there is only one….

Isn’t it funny, trough Steemit I (re)discovered the great music and Artist Jimi Hendrix… Actually through @melbookermusic 😊 … So thanks @melbookermusic , let the music connect us even more on Steemit !!!




steem-banner.jpg

Foxy music.......

Sort:  

Mijn favo's (misschien de beste) gitaar (be)spelers zijn Joe Satriani, Mark Knopfler en Roger Taylor.
Als je ze bezig ziet dan lijkt het allemaal zo simpel...tot je'r zelf aan begint (ik heb het nogal vlug opgegeven...)

hahaha herkenbaar, het ziet er zo makkelijk uit....maar dan zitten je vingers in de weg :)

Stevie Salas/Bernard Fowler (Rolling Stones)

wow.... Guitar as singer are both great !!!

Micheal Lee Firkins ,a great guitarplayer. He is now touring trough Europe together with Barend Courbous (the dutch bass-god ;) )

Cool, TM Stevens on bass, I met him once in Tilburg . WHat a great and inspiring guy !! And what a funk !!! Thanks for pointing out , I had to take a good look I thought youj were singing ;)

Best ever. Thank you for your sharing, I love it @verhp11

Thank you very much for you reply !!! did it with pleasure !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.07
ETH 2731.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45