Music: Greta van Fleet - Led Zeppelin off

in #music6 years ago


Source

Yesterday we have rehearsed a new song with the band, the song "Black smoke rising" of the American band Greta van Fleet.


Source

The song is really awesome to play, as a bassplayer you can really improvise within the song. I had already heared of them before but not really paid any attention to them. So this weekend I had a look at some songs and historie about the band.

The band was founded in 2012 and consist of three brothers and a friend. They are strongly influenced by Led Zeppelin which you obvious can hear in their music and the way their singer sings. I do think that is one of the reasons why they are going like a rocket to the top of the music industry. They are really young and to produce such a 70's sound is really something.

Robert Plant was asked about what he thought of Great van Fleet, he gives his opinion in the next video.


Source

I also ran into a article of Rolling Stone Magazine where Greta's frontman Josh reacts to a lot of people whom says that Greta van Fleet is sounding way to much as Led Zeppelin. He said that people must stop making the comparision, they are indeed influenced by Led Zeppelin, the aknowledged it and it is time to move on.

I do have my doubts about that because as I said I do think they got a lot of exposure just because they indeed sound a lot like Led Zeppelin. The atmosphere of the songs, the voice, the guitarplay. Do I bother? No of course not, they make some great music although I do think if the really want to get rid of the comparision they must release a album with a total different sound... If that will happen, we'll see...

Untill that time I am enjoying their music a lot but to be honest you have to roulate it with other music cause 6 or 7 songs with his voice get's a kind of boring.... (excuse me Zeppeling and Greta fans).

What do you think about Greata van Fleet ?

Have a great day


Alt text
Proud member of SMG


I fully support @s3rg3 and @exyle, who are witness with their developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support them, they would appreciate your vote here.


They are the creators of Steemify, THE notification app for your Steemit account for IOS.


steem-banner.jpg

Sort:  

They are a pretty big thing here, but I live just about a half hour away from where they grew up. It was exciting to see how they blew up from a hometown band to something much bigger. Personally I think Safari song is my favorite and I wasn't as impressed with their first full album as I was with their EP. I have missed several chances to see them live over the years and I kind of regret that. I agree though, they need to evolve a little more at some point or they will get lost in the dust.

Love the Plant clip.

I'm not a fan of van Fleet - they need to do something more with the sound. Takes me back to the 80s and all the duff copy bands which emerged then.
Which led us to this...


(There's no official video, so this is the best cut-and-paste I could find)

Hello @verhp11, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Hi @verhp11!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.346 which ranks you at #7601 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 7 places in the last three days (old rank 7594).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 222 contributions, your post is ranked at #85.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63324.37
ETH 2452.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69