Bass.......how low can you go !!!

in #music5 years ago (edited)


Source

This afternoon I was looking at some bass guitars with my youngest son, in between packing for the holiday. It was that moment I started youtube again and watch some of my all time favorite bassplayers. There are so many different but talented musicians out there, I can watch them for hours on online, and that's directly the power of the internet... You can get all the information you want :)

Mononeon



Source

One of my latest discoveries as bass player. MonoNeon is a you dude whith a lot of musicality :) For the good viewers, he plays the bass the other way, the low strings on the end of the bass and the high strings on top. His style is phenomenal. Some people think it's to technical and not where the bass is ment for, but believe me.....he is a master....

Michel Hatzigeorgiou



Source

I first saw Michel (Belgian bassplayer) on the Jaco Pastorius Tribute in Amsterdam. He is an awesome bassplayer. In this video he plays with the loopstation. You can hear the Jaco influences, he even plays a similar Fretless Jazzbass... The punchy, almost singing, sound is just awesome...

John Myung



Source
John Myung is (I think) one of the most underrated bassplayers. His technical skills are one of I kind. He has studied (together with his DreamTheater buddies) at Berkley music school. One of Us most prestigious musical educational institutes. His contribution to the music of Dreamtheater is just amazing.

Rocco Prestia



Source
Tower of Power's Rocco Prestia. The MASTER of funk-super-times basslines. I can't name an other bassplayer who is so steady and on the line as Rocco. He give the Tower of Power some real bass power.

Anthony Jackson



Source
Anthony Jackson plays in a lot of Jazz combinations, he plays Fodera basses. My good friend Danny Samar (a great bassplayer himself) introduced me to the music and bassplaying of Anthony. his timing, jazzy rythm and his technique... I'm jeallous :P....

TM Stevens



Source
The absolute master of sounds and a low action (the distance between the strings and the neck of the bass). I have met the man in Venlo, the Netherlands. He is just such a energic and talented bassplayer. He toured with Tina Turner and many more... He is the first bassplayer I know who had build in effects in his (cort) bass guitar. You either like his playing or you hate it hahah. But I love it...

Marcus Miller



Source
He has to be on 'the list' :) This old video shows the fashion of that time......looooong ago.. But his sound and slapping is just way...way.....awesome... You will recognize his sound out of a million. I have seen him in Paradiso Amsterdam. With the same drummer as in this video (Poogie Bell), master of drums....

Off course there are so many great bass players out there, and I will post some more after our holiday, but these are just awesome and give me inspiration playing even more and better :)

Have a great night,

Peter




I am with QURATOR, are You?




I am using Esteem



Alt text

I fully support @s3rg3 and @exyle, who are witness with their developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support them, they would appreciate your vote here.


They are the creators of Steemify, THE notification app for your Steemit account for IOS.



steem-banner.jpg

Sort:  

We have a girl at my church that plays bass. O swear the guitar is bigger than her. It is pretty funny but her whole family is very musically talented so she does a great job.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thats awesome , I have a weak for kids who play a instrument,regardless the 'level'. Being busy with music is just awesome on its own. And Ill bet it looks funny with such a big guitsr 😂

Thanks for mentioning eSteem app. Kindly join our Discord or Telegram channel for more benefits and offers on eSteem, don't miss our amazing updates.
Follow @esteemapp as well!

I used to love my bass! I was a big slapper!

You play bass ? Never knew, not anymore ?
Slappin is awesome, can get some great effects ans percussion with it :)

I used to! Wasn't great but could knock out a tune! Slapping is the best!

I used to! Wasn't
Great but could knock out a tune!
Slapping is the best!

                 - meesterboom


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Never thought about picking it up again ?

Nah, I went back to my first love which is the guitar. Although, in saying that, Parenthood has majorly dented any time I get to play it!

Hi @verhp11!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.504 which ranks you at #6938 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 71 contributions, your post is ranked at #35.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @verhp11!

You just got a 2.8% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98