Album review: Duo Dulfer Directie

in #music6 years ago (edited)


Source
Accidentally I ran into the Facebook account of Cyril Directie. Cyril is a Dutch musician (drummer). I know Cyril mostly from his work in the band Kane (when they just got into the Dutch musicscene) and of his session work for Dutch artist like Trijntje Oosterhuis. I started to following him on Facebook and on Facebook I read he released an album together with Hans Dulfer, one of Holland's most talented Sax players. (and father of Candy Dulfer). I was currious about this album because (like I said) I only knew him from his faboulous drum work for the band Kane. His style on those Kane songs was really awesome, I liked the sound of his snare drum very much, and his timing...


Damn those eyes, Kane, with Cyril on drums

Duo Dulfer Directie



Source

The album has a Jazzy woof. Cyril and Hans both had already made their footprint into Jazz.
The albums starts with the song "Rollin'in" a drum's and sax only song. It's cool it's recorded, cause I did believed of someone said to me it is pure improvisation.

All songs on the album are rather short in time. If that has to do cause quite some songs are only drum + sax, I don't know. But it does listen great, the songs aren't boring..

On the album there are a few songs with guest artists like Henny Vrienten. Henny Vrienten is the former frontman of Doe Maar, one of Holland's most succesful bands, Candy Dulfer (Hans his daughter) who'm is a great sax player and played with a lot of artist including Prince.


Source

On the album there is also a perfomance of Aram Kersbergen, the first bassplayer of Kane. He plays the upright bass... And he does a great job..

The album itself, there is a lot of variation between the compositions. Of course the Sax and drum's are well represented, but that's the duo :)

Myself aint really a great lover of sax as the main solo instrument, but at this album it is and doesn't bore me a single minute... It's well dosed and delivered.. Even the song "Just Dulfer" where Hans Dulfer is the only one playing, I liked it a lot..

So in my honest opinion, if you are in for some jazzy freestyle music you got to listen this album.
I enjoyed it very much, now I hope there around some time so I can see them live :)

Link to album on Spotify

Have a great sunny day


Alt text
Proud member of SMG


I fully support @s3rg3 and @exyle, who are witness with their developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support them, they would appreciate your vote here.


They are the creators of Steemify, THE notification app for your Steemit account for IOS.


steem-banner.jpg

Sort:  

I am going to have to check this out for sure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63643.10
ETH 2582.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75