A bassgod : Pino Palladino

in #music5 years ago

image.png
Source
One of my "all time heroes" would be Pino Palladino without a doubt. I have written about him in a earlier post (I think in my first days on Steemit) but wanted to do a little recap on that one because he deserves it and of course I do have a bigger following now to share his uniqueness.

Who is Pino Palladino?


Pino is a Italian/British bassplayer born in 1957. Like many other bassplayers (including myself) he started out playing guitar and made the switch to bassguitar some years later. The switch for him was more succesfull then it was for me hahaha... (just kidding)...

Pino was known, in the beginning, of 'The guy on the fretless bass'. The worldfamous bassline from "Wherever I lay my hat" of Paul Young is played by Pino.


Pino explaining the bassline of Wherever I lay my hat..

What do I like about Pino?


Pino is master in simplicity. with that I mean he plays at the service of the band. He has awesome grooves and blues walks (for instance with the John Mayer trio) which add's true definition to the music.

The next video gives a good example of the virtuosity of Pino.

There is a live recording with Pino together with the John Mayor trio. I remember the DVD had some options to change the camera angle on only Pino... I have watched it over and over again. When he plays that basslines it looks like it is a piece of cake, but believe me... It's hard and at masterlevel.

image.png
Source


Pino with the John Mayer trio

When the Fender Stratocaster turned 50 years there was this huge concert in England. All kind of (former) Fender players showed up on stage. Pino was the bassplayer for the entire gig. On youtube there are a lot of video's present of that concert. Cause of the different artists playing you can hear and see the diversity of Pino... I truely believe he is one of a kind.

When the bassplayer of The Who died of a heart attack Pino joined the Who on their upcomming tour, he has recorderd an album with them and showed the world he could rock too :)

Like a lot of (famous) musicians Pino has is own signature Fender P (precession) Bass
image.png
Source

It is a red Fender precision with a marvelous sound. My good friend Danny Samar has one and I had the honour to play it. It has that warm punchy Fender sound... Great instrument.

If you're currious, go and check Pino out... You won't be dissapointed :)

Have a great day


Alt text
Proud member of SMG


I fully support @s3rg3 and @exyle, who are witness with their developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support them, they would appreciate your vote here.


They are the creators of Steemify, THE notification app for your Steemit account for IOS.


steem-banner.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85