Pupil to become a Musician

in #music6 years ago

Starting Off

I have recently begun to increase the amount of practice toward becoming an expressive musician. I wanted to write a post to allow people to see a different approach to learning the "conventional" method while making it more intuitive and natural.

Where did I start? I started toying with music when I was a wee lad. Being the youngest of 6 boys, my father would do certain things with certain children. The sibling closest to me R would have piano lessons with my father, and how envious I would become, hearing my brother enjoy the beautiful feeling and vibrations of consonant harmony. So I began by grabbing the piano books my father had bought for my brother. I would read them to the best of my ability and apply my practice. I didn't get far, becoming discouraged because I seemed to never pick up how to continuously read the notes on sheet music. I want to share a secret about music though. You don't need to be able to read music to be a musician.

Through my years I attempted learning some more but I leaned into guitar when I was about 13. I didn't learn much, but I worked on the fundamentals so hard, everything I knew became to only get closer to perfect. Now once again, I am starting piano, guitar, singing, rapping, and even creation of beats. I want to be an expressive creator capable of synthesizing a moving feeling for my listeners.

How does one do this? The conventional music theory is a great way to get familiar with the patterns within music, but after you have the fundamentals of music theory understood you have the building blocks for your musical pyramid. This is when you attempt to get creative with your practices. Feel the notes, feel the vibe, if you learn to play from your heart the music will feel alive. I honestly think the biggest problem with learning music is that we have abstracted everything we can in order to communicate with one another. What about the wee lads that would like to just learn to play themselves? You can do it!

Start with small practices about an instrument you'd like to learn. Guitar has strumming, finger picking, rhythm, you can break down the systematic procedures components in order to practice every facet of your expression. The instrument is a tool, as you increase your circle of music you will be able to allocate sounds you want specifically for your feelings or the way you'd like your audience to feel.

This isn't a tutorial to become a musician, this is a motivational post to create curiosity and drive to learn something a lot think is hard but really its natural to our entire existence. So get out there and discover like our ancestors, find the world anew for yourself.

Let me know about your thoughts below!
Upvote with love and
dont stop steeming!

Sort:  

Hi, I just followed and upvoted you :-)
Follow back and we can help each other succeed! @hatu

I'll make sure to check out your channel and see if I like your content! Thanks for the love, have any opinions about the post?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63548.34
ETH 2646.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74