LOUDNESS WARS

in #music7 years ago

This is a piece I wrote today...
With all things considered and having recorded two full length albums, soon to be released to the public. I found myself having another brief yet sobering conversation. That conversation was a culmination of thought processes , regarding my direction as a recording artist and how my art exemplifies my stance on how I absolutely perceive life around me.
So many thoughts race with the speed of a European sports car, hitting turns around slippery corners of the Autobahn during a major rainstorm. I admittedly struggle with a variety of emotions in real time, an absolute unwillingness to play it safe and give a great deal of consideration to how ''the majority'' view things. I sometimes laugh in my head, knowing that it is easy to apply this reason as a way of satisfying the ego, '' trying to justify your stance as different'' knowing everyone can be phony and knowing the importance of carefully scrutinizing myself is obligatory, so that I can preserve what authenticity I have been able to muster over the years.
After all feeble attempts are made everyday with our species to present things as original concepts or ideas that support bravery and honesty and '' tolerance'' but for whatever reason to me only appear to be disingenuous with no personal thought provocation or intuition. I find that there is a satisfaction with leaving impressions that celebrate diversity and difference, that seemingly licks the identical wounds of others, that claim they are unique individuals.
Without rubbing my beard to find the next intriguing thing in hopes to capture the imagination of you the reader, if you are actually reading and I don't find myself just being too presumptuous. I will levy this off by just saying humanity has embraced a ''herd mentality'' that seems to now project itself as a form of counter-culture, it's a loud drum in my opinion that has been overly squashed by a digital compressor/limiter, the kick and snare has lost all of it's transients.
''In acoustics and audio , a transient is a high amplitude, short-duration sound at the beginning of a waveform that occurs in phenomena such as musical sounds, noises or speech''
The overly squashed low end sound is considered great because it's the loudest and most obvious thing, garnering the most attention, outweighing anything else due to the fact that the low end frequencies are not allowing any room or space for the mid range or higher frequencies to have a natural presence and feel. The thing is the mixing engineer can't share his critique even though he doesn't agree with how the project is coming along, because the performer who has commercial success, not because he is truly doing something unique has a built in fan base and he can't do anything that disappoints them, so training their ears to pick up on the subtle nuances, or the glaring issues the mixing engineer identifies, with his trained unique perspective never even become a thought.
This is my take on collectivism and its effect on society, it in my opinion is a horrible mix down and arrangement from a undeserving award winning artist...I don't think this ended the way I planned on writing it but it's all from me so it is what it is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57156.19
ETH 2431.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41