My top 5 Canadian punk albums

in #music7 years ago



When it comes to punk rock I'm no stranger.  Since my early teens hiding cassettes and CD'S from my crazy parents so they wouldn't throw them out on me. Punk rock will always hold a special place in my heart since many bandshave helped me through rough times living on the streets to good times jumping around at local punk shows

this is a list of my favorite Canadian punk bands ( in no particular order )

#1 Propagandhi - How To clean Everything


Propagandhi for me is where it all started. I never knew punk rock until i heard of Propagandhi

I stumbled upon Propagandhi at a small local record shop and was attracted to the cassette art

it was titled  "How To Clean Everything" which came out in 1993 under Sputnikmusic

to describe this album it wouldn't give it justice but its fast, funny, political and full of angst

in my personal opinion this is a must have in any music collection 

My personal favourite track: Hallie Selassie up your ass


#2 SNFU - FYULABA

SNFU are great I rememeber seeing them live at a small venu in Edmonton in 2003 ever since then I've been a fan although

they have been active since 1985 I feel kind of bad not hearing them prior to 2003 but anyways after seeing them I immediately purchased the album fyulaba which is an acronym for "fuck you up like a bad accident" released on  Epitaph Records. in 1996. This album would be a classic fast and loud punk rock the thump'n fast bass fills and muddy guitar along with some screaming vocals makes this a great album and would recommend it to anyone.


#3 The Real McKenzies - Clash of the Tartans

The Real McKenzies, what can I say the mix of punk rock with the mix of Celtic makes this album a classic beer drinking foot stomping dance your ass off good time music. Released on Sudden Death in 1998, Clash of the Tartans is the 2'nd studio album album my most notable song on this album was "Old mountain Thyme" the soft acoustic with the Celtic feel reminds me of when I was a young boy my grandfather would sing me old lullabies from Scotland from when he grew up. If you don't have a copy of this album I highly recommend getting a copy so you can start dancing and having a good time immediately 


#4 The Flatliners - Destroy To Create

Back in 2006 when hitchhiking across Canada I ended up in Toronto Ontario for a few days I met a few street kids who wanted me to tag along to a small punk show and sure enough it was The Flatliners. Fast punk rock with influenced ska guitar riffs make The Flatliners album Destroy to Create released under Stomp Records is a good choice for those hot summer days you just want to skateboard through the city or go dancing with your friends. One of my favorite tracks off this album is titled "Freds got slacks" which is based from a SNL skit featuring Will Ferrell the track contains a small clip from the skit


#5 The Creepshow - Run For Your Life

It's 2008 detoxing in the hospital trying to keep my own mental thoughts from killing me a friend of mine gave me a copy of this to take with me. The catchy riffs and horror influenced songs had me stomping  my feet and entertained even while suffering on the inside. Run for your life was released on Stomp Records in 2008. This album is an all around fun time. This psychobilly punk rock album will leave you wanting more the outstanding rhythms and that organ will be a delight . Don't forget to check out the cover of Pet Sematary by the Ramones at the end of the album



All album art came from www.discogs.com and all albums are for purchase
thumbnail credit to brixtoncreative 

Sort:  

when a new post_!

Hey sorry I'm on vacation new stuff will come soon! thanks!

Best Canadian bands:

  1. D.O.A.
  2. Dayglo Abortions
  3. SNFU
  4. Beyond Possession
  5. NoMeansNo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62532.98
ETH 3451.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53