7 Songs In Seven Days

in #music7 years ago

A little over a year ago some good friends and I ran a few 'challenges' to get to know each other's musical tastes a little better. The first challenge was to post our seven favourite 90's songs, one song each day for seven days. I won't drag it out to seven days here on Steemit, cos that would be SPAM, but here are my responses to the 90's challenge. If you are so taken you may like to post some of your own picks below. Or not. I'm not the boss of you.
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Day 1 - Thanks to [friend] for tagging me in the 7 90's songs over 7 days thingamy. Here's my first, just an incredible song whatever way you look at it, and brings back boozy memories with some really cool people.


+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

So it's Day 2 of the 90's Music Thingamy that [friend] tagged me in and tonight I thought I'd go back to the start of the 90s or thereabouts...

It's 1991, and a 19 year old me is having his first go at managing Vaucluse Post Office while the erstwhile Postal Manager uses up some sick leave. I'm listening to Triple J while serving the likes of Tony Greig and the guy who owned Nuss Removals whose first initial was A (think about it) when this song comes on the radio. It sounds so clichéd now cos everyone has their own where-I-was-when-I-first-heard-Nevermind story, but I stopped what I was doing and honestly thought I'd never heard anything like it before. I went out to get it after work and found out it was sold out everywhere or not yet in (Nervarnah?, Never heard of 'em mate. We've got the Do The Bartman single if you'd like that instead?). The rest is history as you know. Grunge exploded, and I swapped some of the hair metal I was into for Alice in Chains, Mudhoney, Soundgarden, Pearl Jam and of course Nirvana among others.

It was a great time to be alive, and a great time for music.


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Day 3 of How The Hell Can I Possibly Pick Only 7 Of My Favourite Songs From the 90's with [friends] and other esteemed guests.

It's 1994 and from memory I'm in the local record store buying Pearl Jam's Vitalogy. The record store (in Macarthur Square?) had one of those setups where you put on some headphones and listen to the first 30 seconds of each song on an album, and with some time to kill I thought I'd listen to a few. I don't remember the others, but one by a band called Korn caught my eye as it had a stupid cover and the dickheads didn't even spell Corn right. Pffffft. Anyway, I pressed play and HOLY SHIT, my ears have heretofore never been assaulted in such a pleasant way. Could a bass even sound like that? Apparently so people, apparently so.

So began a relationship with Korn that continues to this day.


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Day 4 of It's Way Harder To Narrow Your 90's Down To Just 7 Songs Than You Think.....

The year is 1999 and I'm living in a one-bedder in Summer Hill in inner western Sydney between relationships. Korn's Follow The Leader is on extremely heavy rotation and all the cool kids are playing a MMORPG called Utopia over their dialup connections while chatting about it on ICQ. One night during such a chat a young Canadian chap FTP'd a song from this band to me. Can't remember the exact song but I was intrigued enough to run out and buy some of their back catalog. Anyway, I loved it. It was a bit of an escape and if you didn't think too hard about it it was pretty good to listen to. Ladies and gentlemen I give you the Most Hated Band In The World, the Insane Clown Posse, just a small part of my 90's musical experience.


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

It's day 5 of Weren't The 90's Just A Cracking Decade For Music.

The year is 1997 and I'm living at Parramatta. A new show called South Park is ruffling feathers in a hilarious way, and I think I was just starting to realise that maybe wrestling was fake. I'd previously discovered Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds when [friend] lent me the Murder Ballads CD the previous year. Perhaps lent is the wrong word as he'd left it at my house and I just 'forgot' to give it back for quite a long time. ;) This album from Nick Cave had been out for a while but for some reason I was oblivious to its existence. By the time I finally went out and bought it I was blown away. You don't really need words to describe it, you just listen and enjoy.


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Day 666 of the 90's Aren't Just For Breakfast Anymore.

It's back to 1999 again and someone sent me a little file called waitandbleed.mp3 (probably downloaded from Napster - stuff you Lars!) and I couldn't wait to hear what it sounded like. It was brutal and uncompromising like my mood at the time so it was a perfect fit. My earphones melted into head as if to say mere earphones cannot contain the amount of awesome contained in this music. Slipknot have released some outstanding music since, but nothing beats the raw power of their first few years.


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

It's day 7 of So Many Good Bands Missed Out On This 90's Song List.

It's 1992 and I'm pretty sure I was living on Old South Head Rd at Bondi next to a Jewish Synagogue whose visitors didn't share my musical tastes it's fair to say. I was listening to lots of grunge and metal and smoking maybe a little more marijuana than was actually good for me. When I first heard this song (JJJ?) I was immediately knocked out. The hypnotic bass line, Layne's screaming, angst-filled lyrics, it was love at first listen. This song remains my favourite song of the 90s and possibly of all time.


+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Stay tuned for more of these "7 in 7 Days" and please by all means post your favourites below. Thanks for taking the time to check this post out.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Cameron from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62860.75
ETH 3112.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86