THE POWER OF MUSIC

in #music6 years ago

Our hearts beating in our chests, creates our own music, a beat that connects us all . The beat that keeps us alive.

Music is a means of expression, of celebration. It has the power to change us, to transport us back to the past. It is healing, it is medicine in it's own right. It allows us to slip away from pain and feel wrapped up in a cushion of sound, that cradles us and holds us.

Where would we be without music in our lives, I do not wish to know. it breaks down barriers. It brings people together.

Music is like a doorway, a doorway into our deeper selves, it knows no boundaries, it is free, it is expansive. One can take music to so many different levels, it is every changing. It can be simple or it can be complicated. We can lose ourselves in music. It is one of the few times that I am happy to get lost. The many journeys that I have taken listening to music. The many times it has lifted me up out of the dark and brought me to a safe and familiar space.

The Power of Music.

The ability to make me smile, make me cry, make me move my body. To become one with the sounds, to move as if like liquid and flow, flow with ease. The power of music to make me happy.

love to dance. I feel free, I can shut out everything and just be. It is my meditation, my mind empty, I feel myself soar. I can dance as if no one is watching, I no longer care. To me it is all about the music and the opportunity to glide, glide across the floor, to feel weightless. I'm sure I have flown at times, it certainly has felt like that.

Finding new music I like, music that touches me, that helps me open up, it is a gift, it is a blessing. I am a wanderer, I like movement, to stay in flow. Music allows me to keep moving, to keep expanding my mind, opening my mind up to new sounds. Music feeds my soul, it makes me whole.

Today I wish to share a new discovery, I am always on the look out for new music. New music that I would love to share, because that s exactly what we should be doing. Music is a gift we should share with one another.

Today my gift of music to you is

Sudan Archives

Violinist and vocalist, Sudan Archives writes, plays, and produces her own music. Drawing inspiration from Sudanese fiddlers, she is self-taught on the violin, and her unique songs also fold in elements of R&B, and experimental electronic music.
Sudan Archives grew up in Cincinnati, Ohio, where she "messed around with instruments in the house" and took up violin in the fourth grade, eventually teaching herself how to play the instrument by ear. When she discovered the violin playing style of Northeast Africa, her eyes opened to the possibilities of the instrument. "The way they played it was different from classical music. I resonated with the style, and I was like, 'Maybe I can use this style with electronic music,'" she says.

This fusing of folk music and electronic production was the turning point for Sudan.
http://www.stonesthrow.com/sudanarchives


It was hard to pick just one song so here are two.


Enjoy and please share some music you like.

resteem.png

Big Big Thank You To @byn for designing my logo.


Sort:  

Yeah, I agree with you that music is a gift we should share with one another.

I just found out this collection of music and I immediately fell in love. The blend of musical instruments and songs is beautiful. It's make my body dance.

Thank you for sharing. I'm so glad you're sharing music that feels good day.

You have a minor grammatical mistake in the following sentence:

It is healing, it is medicine in it's own right.
It should be its own instead of it's own.

Music was always a big part of my life. You are right it has incredible healing powers, you can get lost in it for an escape, you can cry with it for healing, you can bring it into your celebratory moments or simply sway, dance and sing along with it's many versatile sounds.

yes indeed, it is always played a huge part in my healing, thank you @sunlit7

This is lovely—thanks for sharing!

thank you @tessaragabrielle, I am so impressed with her, she is only 23 as well.

Congratulations, your post has been included in the latest Powa Moves curation post from @teamgirlpowa! 💖 Thanks for helping make our team so great.

TGP-22-Banner.jpg

thank you so much @teamgirlpowa, I am honoured xx

really like this first song! soo good! grooving on it!!

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61083.24
ETH 2670.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61