Small town Iowa Libertarian

in #music8 years ago (edited)

Northeast Iowa is rural, small town type America. My friends and I drink beer, and party. Spend a lot of time on the rivers during the summer either boating, fishing, kayaking, canoeing and of course drinking beer. Also camping with plenty of beer and fire. No matter what it is were doing we usually listen to music. I myself listen to music all the time thanks to Spotify the newest music I've been on is "The Cadillac Three" and their new album "Bury me in my boots." Also my favorite summer beer is Summer Shandy made by leinenkugel's from Wisconsin. You may ask why am I writing about summer, beer, and northeast Iowa. Well I'm assuming I'm the only one from my area on this site and just wanted any possible others from my area to know a country boy like them is on this new "edgy" site and its ok to tread out into unfamiliar things.

An unfamiliar thinking to most is the thought of libertarianism. The anarchist/voluntaryist/libertarian thought has not been entertained in most small town types like me in my area. Most are stuck in the scary notion that anarchism is moltov cocktails and riots. But most in the area would agree that gov't coercion is not necessary to get things done in the community or the economy. We rely on all sorts of volunteers in our community to get things done, some times in urgent needs we even use some type of saying like its our "Iowa nice." Not to mention all of the small business, self employed types who bust there butt getting things done. All sorts of things get done through out our communities without big government yet the moment you mention we need less government or that taxation is theft they say what about the roads! And then immediately get sucked back up into the left/right paradigm. When sucked into the two party paradigm of getting things done they stop thinking there might be other ways to solve problems. They forget of all the other things we do without gov't coercion.

Libertarianism has opened my mind in so many ways along with free market thinking. The two party system is dying in America. But most Americans are still stuck in the two party paradigm. Most haven't heard of the Libertarian party. But I know most of my close friends know of it and some of my family and co-workers have heard of it. They may have known before me but I'm sure I've been the first to mention libertarianism to quite a few of them. One way I'm spreading the libertarian thought is I'm running for state senate in my district. I know a lot of people in this web community are going to scream statist at me but I don't intend to win. My competition is spending thousands of dollars on campaigning and getting donations. I'm not asking for donations and I'm not putting up yard signs with my name on them. I'm just getting my name on the ballot which is a process in itself. And slowly spreading the word that I'll be on the ballot. Why am I running for state senate as a a libertarian? To make people ask What is a libertarian? In the world of information ignorance is a choice. Most people in my area will not dig much deeper into libertarian thought. But hopefully some do, cause who knows the ideas they may end up on or problems they solve after thinking in the libertarian paradigm. Hopefully they get onto the free market trip too and realize "free college" and the "fight for $15" is ridiculous, social security is a ponzi scheme and the federal reserve is destroying our dollar. One can only hope. So I guess besides getting on the river, camping, and listening to music, spreading libertarianism has been one of my summer activities this summer and of course drinking beer :)

Be good, take care.

Sort:  

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 8.3 and reading ease of 66%. This puts the writing level on par with Leo Tolstoy and David Foster Wallace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66565.59
ETH 3503.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72